Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vermont Public Interest Research Group

2005-2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 100%
VT Governor Phil Scott Republican 55%
VT Lieutenant Governor Dave Zuckerman Democratic 90%
VT State House Addison-5 Harvey Smith Republican 10%
VT State House Bennington-2-1 Timothy Corcoran II Democratic 60%
VT State House Bennington-2-2 Mary Morrissey Republican 20%
VT State House Chittenden-2 Jim McCullough Democratic 100%
VT State House Chittenden-4-2 Bill Lippert, Jr. Democratic 100%
VT State House Chittenden-6-5 Johannah Donovan Democratic 100%
VT State House Chittenden-7-2 Ann Pugh Democratic 100%
VT State House Chittenden-8-1 Linda Myers Republican 10%
VT State House Chittenden-9-2 Patrick Brennan Republican 10%
VT State House Grand Isle-Chittenden Mitzi Johnson Democratic 100%
VT State House Orange-2 Sarah Copeland-Hanzas Democratic 100%
VT State House Orleans-2 Michael Marcotte Republican 10%
VT State House Rutland-2 Dave Potter Democratic 80%
VT State House Rutland-3 William Canfield Republican 40%
VT State House Rutland-3 Robert Helm Republican 0%
VT State House Washington-1 Anne Donahue Republican 40%
VT State House Washington-2 Francis McFaun Republican 40%
VT State House Washington-4 Warren Kitzmiller Democratic 90%
VT State House Washington-6 Janet Ancel Democratic 90%
VT State House Washington-7 Maxine Grad Democratic 80%
VT State House Windham-3 Carolyn Partridge Democratic 80%
VT State House Windsor-3-2 Alice Emmons Democratic 100%
VT State House Windsor-Orange-2 James Masland Democratic 90%
VT State House Windsor-Rutland Sandy Haas Progressive 90%
VT State Senate Bennington Richard Sears, Jr. Democratic 73%
VT State Senate Caledonia Jane Kitchel Democratic 73%
VT State Senate Chittenden Ginny Lyons Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Chittenden Chris Pearson Democratic 75%
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans John Rodgers Democratic 70%
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans Robert Starr Democratic 36%
VT State Senate Grand Isle Dick Mazza Democratic 70%
VT State Senate Lamoille Richard Westman Republican 30%
VT State Senate Orange Mark MacDonald Democratic 91%
VT State Senate Washington Ann Cummings Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Windham Jeanette White Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Windsor Alison Clarkson Democratic 80%
VT State Senate Windsor Alice Nitka Democratic 60%
VT Secretary of State Jim Condos Democratic 100%
VT Council Member Ward 4 Kurt Wright Republican 40%
Joe Acinapura 14%
Steven Adams 30%
David Allaire 30%
George Allard 0%
William Aswad 80%
Kenneth Atkins 90%
Albert Audette 80%
Claire Ayer 100%
Joseph Baker 30%
Denise Begins Barnard 80%
Philip Bartlett 20%
Susan Bartlett 45%
Lynn Bohi 100%
Donald Bostic 30%
Bill Botzow 90%
Carolyn Branagan 30%
Francis Brooks 100%
John Campbell 100%
Harry Chen 100%
David Clark 10%
Gregory Clark 30%
Donald Collins 82%
Jim Condon 50%
George Coppenrath 22%
George Cross 90%
Steve Darrow 90%
Stephen Dates 14%
David Deen 100%
Thomas DePoy 40%
Andrew Donaghy 10%
Robert Dostis 100%
Winston Dowland 60%
Bill Doyle 64%
Matt Dunne 91%
Brian Dunsmore 30%
Sarah Edwards 90%
Kevin Endres 10%
Joyce Errecart 30%
Debbie Evans 100%
Gail Fallar 90%
Michael Fisher 90%
Edward Flanagan 55%
Peg Flory 10%
William Frank 100%
Patsy French 90%
Roderick Gander 36%
Avis Gervais 50%
Harold Giard 73%
Steve Green 90%
Helen Head 90%
Martha Heath 100%
Carol Hosford 100%
Constance Houston 10%
Steve Howard 100%
Dick Howrigan, Sr. 60%
Richard Hube 10%
Cola Hudson 10%
Peter Hunt 90%
Jim Hutchinson 90%
Vincent Illuzzi 55%
Timothy Jerman 100%
Willem Jewett 80%
William Johnson 0%
Michael Kainen 70%
Kathleen Keenan 60%
Sylvia Kennedy 10%
Bill Keogh 90%
Duncan Kilmartin 10%
Sara Kittell 91%
Tony Klein 100%
Thomas Koch 20%
Patricia Komline 50%
Joseph Krawczyk, Jr. 40%
Michele Kupersmith 100%
Leigh Larocque 10%
Steve Larrabee, Sr. 10%
Mark Larson 100%
Kathy LaBelle LaVoie 20%
Richard Lawrence 20%
James Leddy 100%
Lucy Leriche 80%
Judy Livingston 10%
Jason Lorber 80%
Christopher Louras 20%
Steven Maier 100%
John Malcolm 50%
Richard Marek 100%
Richard Marron 50%
Clint Martin 30%
Linda Martin 100%
Hull Maynard 27%
Norman McAllister 10%
Rosemary McLaughlin 90%
Virginia Milkey 90%
Alice Miller 100%
Hinda Miller 64%
Warren Miller 40%
Sue Minter 100%
Lawrence Molloy 60%
Harry Monti 60%
Anne Mook 70%
John Morley III 10%
Kevin Mullin 36%
Floyd Nease 90%
Kathrine Niquette 20%
Betty Nuovo 100%
Michael John Obuchowski 80%
Patricia O'Donnell 10%
Scott Orr 100%
Harvey Otterman, Jr. 10%
Alan Parent 10%
Janice Peaslee 10%
Kathy Pellett 70%
Albert Joseph Perry 40%
Mary Peterson 70%
Daryl Pillsbury 50%
Dexter Randall 70%
Michael Reese 90%
Robert Rusten 70%
Ann Seibert 70%
Malcolm Severance 60%
Ernest Shand 100%
Dave Sharpe 90%
Loren Shaw 0%
Mark Shepard 18%
Shap Smith, Jr. 60%
Diane Snelling 73%
David Sunderland 10%
Donna Sweaney 100%
John Patrick Tracy 100%
Ira Trombley 70%
Donald Turner, Jr. 0%
Leo Valliere 20%
Wendy Wilton 18%
John Winters 10%
Philip Winters 20%
Mark Young 20%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top