Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vermont Public Interest Research Group

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 100%
VT Governor Phil Scott Republican 62%
VT Lieutenant Governor Dave Zuckerman Democratic 88%
VT State House Addison-5 Harvey Smith Republican 22%
VT State House Bennington-2-1 Timothy Corcoran II Democratic 33%
VT State House Bennington-2-2 Mary Morrissey Republican 11%
VT State House Chittenden-2 Jim McCullough Democratic 88%
VT State House Chittenden-4-2 Bill Lippert, Jr. Democratic 88%
VT State House Chittenden-6-5 Johannah Donovan Democratic 88%
VT State House Chittenden-7-2 Ann Pugh Democratic 88%
VT State House Chittenden-8-1 Linda Myers Republican 22%
VT State House Chittenden-9-2 Patrick Brennan Republican 0%
VT State House Grand Isle-Chittenden Mitzi Johnson Democratic 87%
VT State House Rutland-3 Robert Helm Republican 30%
VT State House Washington-1 Anne Donahue Republican 33%
VT State House Washington-4 Warren Kitzmiller Democratic 88%
VT State House Washington-7 Maxine Grad Democratic 100%
VT State House Windham-3 Carolyn Partridge Democratic 77%
VT State House Windsor-3-2 Alice Emmons Democratic 88%
VT State House Windsor-Orange-2 James Masland Democratic 88%
VT State Senate Bennington Richard Sears, Jr. Democratic 82%
VT State Senate Chittenden Ginny Lyons Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans John Rodgers Democratic 50%
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans Robert Starr Democratic 61%
VT State Senate Grand Isle Dick Mazza Democratic 75%
VT State Senate Lamoille Richard Westman Republican 22%
VT State Senate Orange Mark MacDonald Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Washington Ann Cummings Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Windham Jeanette White Democratic 100%
VT State Senate Windsor Alice Nitka Democratic 66%
VT Secretary of State Jim Condos Democratic 100%
VT Mayor At-Large Robert Kiss 88%
VT Council Member Ward 4 Kurt Wright Republican 11%
VT Assistant Judge At-Large Jack Anderson 62%
Steven Adams 25%
David Allaire 22%
George Allard 22%
Edwin Amidon, Jr. 61%
William Aswad 88%
Kenneth Atkins 50%
Albert Audette 66%
Claire Ayer 100%
Harold Bailey 22%
Joseph Baker 22%
Philip Bartlett 22%
Susan Bartlett 100%
John Bloomer, Jr. 50%
Lynn Bohi 88%
David Bolduc 0%
Donald Bostic 22%
Bill Botzow 66%
Carolyn Branagan 25%
Francis Brooks 88%
David Brown 22%
John Campbell 87%
Julius Canns 11%
Erron Carey 11%
Harry Chen 87%
David Clark 11%
Gregory Clark 22%
Donald Collins 75%
Kinny Connell 88%
Howard Crawford 0%
George Cross 88%
Judith Crowley 22%
Maureen Dakin 72%
Steve Darrow 88%
David Deen 75%
Thomas DePoy 11%
Andrew Donaghy 11%
Robert Dostis 77%
Bill Doyle 50%
Virginia Duffy 11%
Matt Dunne 100%
Brian Dunsmore 22%
Sarah Edwards 88%
Kevin Endres 0%
Joyce Errecart 33%
Gail Fallar 66%
Michael Fisher 87%
Peg Flory 22%
Patsy French 75%
Roderick Gander 100%
Avis Gervais 78%
Gerry Gossens 87%
Henry Gray 0%
James Greenwood 33%
Carl Haas 0%
John Kenneth Hall 11%
Helen Head 88%
Martha Heath 82%
Steve Hingtgen 88%
Constance Houston 22%
Dick Howrigan, Sr. 33%
Richard Hube 11%
Cola Hudson 11%
Margaret Hummel 88%
Peter Hunt 100%
Vincent Illuzzi 66%
Willem Jewett 88%
William Johnson 30%
Michael Kainen 30%
Kathleen Keenan 82%
Sylvia Kennedy 11%
Wayne Kenyon 78%
Bill Keogh 60%
Carroll Ketchum 25%
Duncan Kilmartin 11%
Linda Kirker 0%
Sara Kittell 100%
Tony Klein 100%
Thomas Koch 12%
Albert Krawczyk 11%
Joseph Krawczyk, Jr. 12%
Leigh Larocque 0%
Steve Larrabee, Sr. 25%
Mark Larson 87%
Kathy LaBelle LaVoie 22%
James Leddy 100%
Judy Livingston 12%
Steven Maier 88%
Richard Marek 100%
Richard Marron 22%
Clint Martin 88%
Hull Maynard 0%
Bernier Mayo 33%
Frank Mazur 11%
Norman McAllister 11%
Rosemary McLaughlin 100%
Doran Metzger 12%
Virginia Milkey 88%
Alice Miller 78%
Hinda Miller 82%
Warren Miller 22%
Lawrence Molloy 50%
Harry Monti 60%
Kevin Mullin 38%
Janet Munt 100%
Floyd Nease 75%
Betty Nuovo 88%
Michael John Obuchowski 78%
Patricia O'Donnell 22%
Harvey Otterman, Jr. 33%
Alan Parent 12%
Janice Peaslee 11%
Albert Joseph Perry 61%
Mary Peterson 50%
Daryl Pillsbury 61%
Michael Reese 88%
Curran Robinson 22%
David Rogers 0%
Robert Rusten 66%
George Schiavone 11%
Ann Seibert 88%
Malcolm Severance 37%
Ernest Shand 87%
Dave Sharpe 88%
Loren Shaw 11%
Nancy Sheltra 0%
Mark Shepard 37%
Heather Shouldice 37%
Shap Smith, Jr. 66%
Diane Snelling 75%
David Sunderland 11%
Donna Sweaney 88%
Joyce Sweeney 22%
Gene Sweetser 22%
Gaye Symington 88%
Ruth Towne 22%
John Patrick Tracy 100%
Ira Trombley 75%
Leo Valliere 22%
Val Vincent 61%
Perry Waite 50%
Stephen Webster 22%
John Winters 11%
Philip Winters 22%
Robert Wood, Jr. 11%
Mark Young 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top