Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2013 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 74%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 38%
AZ U.S. House 8 Debbie Lesko Republican 68%
AZ State House 1 Steve Pierce Republican 59%
AZ State House 2 Rosanna Gabaldon Democratic 38%
AZ State House 6 Bob Thorpe Republican 65%
AZ State House 8 T.J. Shope Republican 61%
AZ State House 12 Warren Petersen Republican 71%
AZ State House 14 Gail Griffin Republican 69%
AZ State House 15 John Allen Republican 67%
AZ State House 15 Nancy Barto Republican 64%
AZ State House 16 Kelly Townsend Republican 66%
AZ State House 23 John Kavanagh Republican 69%
AZ State House 30 Robert Meza Democratic 40%
AZ State Senate 1 Karen Fann Republican 62%
AZ State Senate 2 Andrea Dalessandro Democratic 37%
AZ State Senate 3 Sally Gonzales Democratic 36%
AZ State Senate 4 Lisa Otondo Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 5 Sonny Borrelli Republican 62%
AZ State Senate 7 Jamescita Peshlakai Democratic 38%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 60%
AZ State Senate 9 Victoria Steele Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 42%
AZ State Senate 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 70%
AZ State Senate 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 15 Heather Carter Republican 61%
AZ State Senate 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 19 Lupe Chavira Contreras Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 20 Paul Boyer Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Gray Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 22 David Livingston Republican 63%
AZ State Senate 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 24 Lela Alston Democratic 34%
AZ State Senate 26 Juan Mendez Democratic 33%
AZ State Senate 28 Kate McGee Republican 59%
AZ State Senate 29 Martin Quezada Democratic 38%
AZ Secretary of State Katie Hobbs Democratic 40%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 37%
AZ Treasurer Kimberly Yee Republican 67%
Ed Ableser 39%
Brenda Barton 63%
Judy Burges 74%
Olivia Cajero Bedford 40%
Chad Campbell 40%
Mark Cardenas 41%
Doug Coleman 60%
Rich Crandall 53%
Chester Crandell 69%
Jeff Dial 62%
Adam Driggs 65%
Juan Escamilla 42%
Steve Farley 41%
Thomas Forese 65%
Doris Goodale 59%
Albert Hale 43%
Lydia Hernandez 38%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 39%
Adam Kwasman 69%
Leah Landrum Taylor 37%
Jonathan Larkin 38%
Linda Lopez 37%
Phil Lovas 61%
Stefanie Mach 40%
John McComish 60%
Debbie McCune Davis 38%
Barbara McGuire 48%
Al Melvin 65%
Eric Meyer 38%
Catherine Miranda 39%
Darin Mitchell 72%
Steve Montenegro 68%
Rick Murphy 70%
Justin Olson 68%
Ethan Orr 61%
Lynne Pancrazi 42%
Justin Pierce 64%
Michele Reagan 63%
Bob Robson 60%
Macario Saldate IV 38%
Carl Seel 70%
Andrew Sherwood 39%
Don Shooter 66%
Steve Smith 69%
David Stevens 65%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 62%
Anna Tovar 39%
Kelli Ward 63%
Bruce Wheeler 39%
Bob Worsley 63%
Steven Yarbrough 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top