Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2012 Positions on Tax and Budget

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 86%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 29%
AZ U.S. House 8 Debbie Lesko Republican 93%
AZ State House 1 Steve Pierce Republican 71%
AZ State House 14 Gail Griffin Republican 71%
AZ State House 15 Nancy Barto Republican 86%
AZ State House 16 John Fillmore Republican 93%
AZ State House 23 John Kavanagh Republican 93%
AZ State House 30 Robert Meza Democratic 29%
AZ State Senate 1 Karen Fann Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 3 Sally Gonzales Democratic 21%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 15 Heather Carter Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Gray Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 24 Lela Alston Democratic 21%
AZ State Senate 28 Kate McGee Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 29 Martin Quezada Democratic 21%
AZ Secretary of State Katie Hobbs Democratic 21%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 86%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 29%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 29%
AZ Treasurer Kimberly Yee Republican 86%
Ed Ableser 36%
Paula Aboud 29%
Frank Antenori 64%
Ben Arredondo 21%
Cecil Ash 71%
Brenda Barton 86%
Judy Burges 86%
Olivia Cajero Bedford 29%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 36%
Tom Chabin 21%
Steve Court 86%
Rich Crandall 57%
Chester Crandell 86%
Jeff Dial 86%
Adam Driggs 64%
Steve Farley 29%
Thomas Forese 86%
Doris Goodale 71%
Ron Gould 86%
Linda Gray 79%
Albert Hale 21%
Jack Harper 93%
Matthew Heinz 29%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 29%
Russ Jones 43%
Peggy Judd 57%
Lori Klein 79%
Leah Landrum Taylor 21%
Jerry Lewis 64%
Linda Lopez 29%
Phil Lovas 86%
David Lujan 29%
John McComish 64%
Debbie McCune Davis 29%
Nancy McLain 71%
Al Melvin 64%
Eric Meyer 43%
Catherine Miranda 29%
Steve Montenegro 93%
Rick Murphy 79%
John Nelson 71%
Justin Olson 86%
Lynne Pancrazi 14%
Daniel Patterson 14%
Justin Pierce 93%
Terri Proud 71%
Michele Reagan 71%
Amanda Reeve 79%
Bob Robson 86%
Macario Saldate IV 29%
Carl Seel 93%
Don Shooter 71%
David Smith 86%
Steve Smith 86%
David Stevens 79%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 79%
Anna Tovar 21%
Steve Urie 86%
Ted Vogt 79%
Jim Weiers 86%
Bruce Wheeler 29%
Vic Williams 71%
Steven Yarbrough 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top