Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2012 Positions on Education

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 71%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 71%
AZ State House 3 Sally Ann Gonzales Democratic 86%
AZ State House 3 Macario Saldate IV Democratic 71%
AZ State House 6 Brenda Barton Republican 93%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 71%
AZ State House 13 Don Shooter Republican 100%
AZ State House 15 Heather Carter Republican 93%
AZ State House 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 93%
AZ State House 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 86%
AZ State House 24 Lela Alston Democratic 86%
AZ State Senate 1 Karen Fann Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 79%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 86%
AZ State Senate 11 Steve Smith Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 14 Gail Griffin Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 100%
AZ State Senate 20 Kimberly Yee Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 93%
AZ State Senate 24 Katie Hobbs Democratic 86%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 64%
AZ State Senate 29 Martin Quezada Democratic 50%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 79%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 93%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 93%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 79%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 86%
Ed Ableser 71%
Paula Aboud 71%
Frank Antenori 93%
Ben Arredondo 71%
Cecil Ash 93%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 86%
Tom Chabin 86%
Steve Court 93%
Rich Crandall 93%
Chester Crandell 93%
Jeff Dial 93%
Adam Driggs 93%
John Fillmore 64%
Thomas Forese 93%
Doris Goodale 93%
Ron Gould 79%
David Gowan, Sr. 93%
Linda Gray 100%
Rick Gray 93%
Albert Hale 79%
Jack Harper 93%
Matthew Heinz 86%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 86%
Russ Jones 93%
Peggy Judd 93%
Lori Klein 93%
Leah Landrum Taylor 86%
Jerry Lewis 93%
Linda Lopez 71%
Phil Lovas 93%
David Lujan 79%
John McComish 93%
Debbie McCune Davis 86%
Kate McGee 93%
Nancy McLain 93%
Al Melvin 100%
Eric Meyer 86%
Rick Murphy 93%
John Nelson 93%
Justin Olson 93%
Lynne Pancrazi 79%
Daniel Patterson 86%
Justin Pierce 93%
Steve Pierce 100%
Terri Proud 93%
Amanda Reeve 93%
Bob Robson 93%
Carl Seel 93%
David Smith 71%
David Stevens 93%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 93%
Anna Tovar 71%
Steve Urie 93%
Ted Vogt 93%
Jim Weiers 93%
Bruce Wheeler 86%
Vic Williams 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top