Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2012 Total Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 86%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 21%
AZ State House 3 Sally Ann Gonzales Democratic 14%
AZ State House 3 Macario Saldate IV Democratic 14%
AZ State House 6 Brenda Barton Republican 71%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 86%
AZ State House 15 Heather Carter Republican 64%
AZ State House 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 71%
AZ State House 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 71%
AZ State House 24 Lela Alston Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 1 Karen Fann Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 29%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 21%
AZ State Senate 11 Steve Smith Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 14 Gail Griffin Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 20 Kimberly Yee Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Gray Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 24 Katie Hobbs Democratic 14%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 14%
AZ State Senate 29 Martin Quezada Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 21%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 71%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 71%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 21%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 21%
Ed Ableser 29%
Paula Aboud 21%
Frank Antenori 71%
Ben Arredondo 14%
Cecil Ash 64%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 21%
Tom Chabin 14%
Steve Court 71%
Rich Crandall 57%
Chester Crandell 71%
Jeff Dial 71%
Adam Driggs 64%
John Fillmore 86%
Thomas Forese 79%
Doris Goodale 64%
Ron Gould 86%
David Gowan, Sr. 71%
Linda Gray 64%
Albert Hale 21%
Jack Harper 86%
Matthew Heinz 21%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 21%
Russ Jones 50%
Peggy Judd 64%
Lori Klein 86%
Leah Landrum Taylor 21%
Debbie Lesko 79%
Jerry Lewis 64%
Linda Lopez 21%
Phil Lovas 79%
David Lujan 21%
John McComish 64%
Debbie McCune Davis 7%
Kate McGee 57%
Nancy McLain 57%
Al Melvin 71%
Eric Meyer 29%
Steve Montenegro 86%
Rick Murphy 86%
John Nelson 64%
Justin Olson 79%
Lynne Pancrazi 21%
Daniel Patterson 29%
Justin Pierce 86%
Steve Pierce 79%
Terri Proud 71%
Amanda Reeve 57%
Bob Robson 64%
Carl Seel 79%
Don Shooter 71%
David Smith 79%
David Stevens 79%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 71%
Anna Tovar 14%
Steve Urie 71%
Ted Vogt 64%
Jim Weiers 79%
Bruce Wheeler 21%
Vic Williams 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top