Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2008 Tax and Budget Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 86%
Trish Groe 86%
Russell Pearce 84%
Jack Harper 83%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 78%
Sam Crump 76%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 76%
Doug Clark 74%
Rick Murphy 74%
Adam Driggs 73%
Kirk Adams 72%
Mark Anderson 72%
Warde Nichols 72%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 70%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 70%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 70%
Ray Barnes 69%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 68%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 66%
Chuck Gray 66%
Karen Johnson 66%
Nancy McLain 65%
Bob Stump 65%
Robert Burns 62%
Thayer Verschoor 62%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 62%
Jim Weiers 62%
John McComish 59%
Tom Boone 57%
Pamela Gorman 57%
Lucy Mason 57%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 57%
Bob Robson 57%
Marian Ann McClure 55%
Jonathan Paton 55%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 54%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 53%
Timothy Bee 52%
John Huppenthal 52%
Bill Konopnicki 51%
John Nelson 51%
Mark DeSimone 49%
Ken Cheuvront 48%
Barbara Leff 48%
Carolyn Allen 47%
Robert Blendu 45%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 43%
Jennifer Burns 41%
Linda Gray 41%
AZ U.S. House 1 Tom O'Halleran Democratic 40%
Jack Brown 39%
Barbara McGuire 39%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 38%
Victor Soltero 38%
Manny Alvarez 36%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 36%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 36%
Ed Ableser 35%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 35%
Tom Chabin 35%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 35%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 35%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 35%
Martha Garcia 34%
Pete Hershberger 34%
Jackie Thrasher 32%
Theresa Ulmer 32%
Albert Hale 31%
Linda Lopez 31%
David Lujan 31%
Lynne Pancrazi 31%
Nancy Young Wright 31%
Chad Campbell 30%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo Democratic 30%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 30%
Albert Tom 30%
Marsha Arzberger 29%
Jorge Garcia 29%
Leah Landrum Taylor 29%
Charlene Pesquiera 29%
Amanda Aguirre 28%
Meg Burton Cahill 28%
Phil Lopes 28%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 27%
Paula Aboud 24%
Debbie McCune Davis 24%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top