Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2008 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 82%
Ron Gould 82%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 80%
Russell Pearce 80%
Trish Groe 77%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 73%
Jack Harper 68%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 65%
Doug Clark 59%
Pamela Gorman 59%
Thayer Verschoor 59%
Warde Nichols 58%
Sam Crump 57%
Chuck Gray 57%
Robert Burns 54%
Rich Crandall 54%
Karen Johnson 54%
Nancy McLain 54%
Kirk Adams 53%
Rick Murphy 53%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 53%
Mark Anderson 50%
Robert Blendu 49%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 49%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 49%
Carolyn Allen 47%
Adam Driggs 47%
Victor Soltero 47%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 46%
Barbara Leff 44%
Lucy Mason 43%
John Nelson 43%
AZ U.S. House 1 Tom O'Halleran Democratic 43%
Jonathan Paton 43%
Manny Alvarez 42%
Ray Barnes 42%
Bill Konopnicki 42%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 42%
Bob Stump 42%
Ken Cheuvront 41%
John Huppenthal 41%
Leah Landrum Taylor 41%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 41%
Albert Tom 41%
Jim Weiers 41%
Paula Aboud 40%
Marsha Arzberger 40%
Ed Ableser 39%
Tom Boone 39%
Jennifer Burns 39%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 39%
Timothy Bee 38%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 38%
Jack Brown 38%
Meg Burton Cahill 38%
Tom Chabin 38%
Linda Gray 38%
Marian Ann McClure 38%
Bob Robson 38%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 38%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 38%
Amanda Aguirre 37%
Charlene Pesquiera 37%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 37%
Mark DeSimone 36%
Linda Lopez 36%
David Lujan 36%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 36%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 35%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 35%
Albert Hale 35%
Pete Hershberger 35%
John McComish 35%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 35%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 35%
Jackie Thrasher 35%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 34%
Jorge Garcia 34%
Barbara McGuire 34%
Lynne Pancrazi 34%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 34%
Nancy Young Wright 34%
Chad Campbell 32%
Martha Garcia 32%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 32%
Theresa Ulmer 32%
Phil Lopes 31%
Debbie McCune Davis 29%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top