Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Tax and Budget Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
Ron Gould 79%
Russell Pearce 76%
Chuck Gray 70%
David Braswell 68%
Jack Harper 68%
Thayer Verschoor 68%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 66%
John Huppenthal 63%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 63%
Debbie Lesko 63%
Carl Seel 63%
Robert Burns 62%
Laurin Hendrix 60%
Ted Vogt 60%
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 59%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 59%
Steve Montenegro 59%
David Gowan, Sr. 58%
Barbara Leff 58%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 57%
Rick Murphy 56%
Linda Gray 55%
Steve Pierce 55%
Doug Quelland 55%
Jim Weiers 55%
Cecil Ash 54%
Ken Cheuvront 53%
Al Melvin 53%
David Stevens 52%
Kirk Adams 51%
Adam Driggs 51%
Debbie McCune Davis 51%
Ed Bunch 50%
Leah Landrum Taylor 50%
John Nelson 50%
Warde Nichols 50%
Amanda Reeve 50%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 50%
Vic Williams 50%
Rich Crandall 49%
Albert Hale 49%
Nancy McLain 49%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 49%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 49%
Frank Antenori 48%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 48%
Amanda Aguirre 47%
Ray Barnes 47%
Steve Court 47%
Doris Goodale 47%
Matthew Heinz 47%
John McComish 47%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 47%
Carolyn Allen 46%
Tom Boone 46%
Chris Deschene 46%
Ben Miranda 46%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 46%
Tom Chabin 45%
Russ Jones 45%
Bill Konopnicki 45%
Linda Lopez 45%
Lucy Mason 45%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 45%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 45%
Eric Meyer 44%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 43%
Jorge Garcia 43%
Lynne Pancrazi 43%
Nancy Young Wright 43%
Ed Ableser 42%
Manny Alvarez 42%
Chad Campbell 42%
Martha Garcia 42%
Pat Fleming 41%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 40%
Barbara McGuire 40%
Daniel Patterson 40%
Anna Tovar 40%
Rae Waters 40%
Paula Aboud 39%
Jack Brown 39%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 39%
Phil Lopes 39%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 38%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 38%
Meg Burton Cahill 37%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 36%
David Lujan 34%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top