Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 70%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 28%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 37%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 23%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 40%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 27%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 25%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 45%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 45%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 54%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 28%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 37%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 40%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 43%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 25%
Ed Ableser 29%
Paula Aboud 25%
Kirk Adams 41%
Amanda Aguirre 40%
Carolyn Allen 35%
Manny Alvarez 34%
Frank Antenori 42%
Cecil Ash 44%
Ray Barnes 39%
Tom Boone 45%
David Braswell 64%
Jack Brown 30%
Ed Bunch 40%
Robert Burns 43%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
Chad Campbell 28%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 32%
Tom Chabin 27%
Ken Cheuvront 31%
Steve Court 43%
Rich Crandall 42%
Chris Deschene 30%
Adam Driggs 40%
Pat Fleming 26%
Jorge Garcia 42%
Martha Garcia 25%
Doris Goodale 37%
Ron Gould 76%
David Gowan, Sr. 48%
Chuck Gray 57%
Linda Gray 39%
Albert Hale 31%
Jack Harper 71%
Matthew Heinz 33%
Laurin Hendrix 50%
John Huppenthal 48%
Russ Jones 40%
Bill Konopnicki 42%
Leah Landrum Taylor 28%
Barbara Leff 39%
Debbie Lesko 49%
Phil Lopes 28%
Linda Lopez 34%
David Lujan 30%
Lucy Mason 52%
John McComish 41%
Debbie McCune Davis 31%
Barbara McGuire 36%
Nancy McLain 38%
Al Melvin 40%
Eric Meyer 27%
Ben Miranda 28%
Steve Montenegro 57%
Rick Murphy 60%
John Nelson 40%
Warde Nichols 37%
Lynne Pancrazi 35%
Daniel Patterson 28%
Russell Pearce 67%
Steve Pierce 58%
Doug Quelland 43%
Amanda Reeve 46%
Carl Seel 60%
David Stevens 46%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 36%
Anna Tovar 25%
Thayer Verschoor 49%
Ted Vogt 59%
Rae Waters 27%
Jim Weiers 45%
Vic Williams 51%
Nancy Young Wright 29%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top