Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Constitutional Government Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Carl Seel 87%
Ron Gould 85%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 84%
Jack Harper 84%
Russell Pearce 84%
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 80%
Chuck Gray 80%
Steve Montenegro 80%
David Braswell 79%
Thayer Verschoor 79%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 78%
Laurin Hendrix 77%
Barbara Leff 76%
Debbie Lesko 75%
Steve Pierce 75%
Robert Burns 74%
Frank Antenori 73%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 73%
Jim Weiers 73%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 73%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 72%
Linda Gray 70%
John Huppenthal 70%
Al Melvin 70%
Rick Murphy 70%
Doug Quelland 70%
Ed Bunch 69%
Steve Court 69%
Kirk Adams 68%
Nancy McLain 68%
Cecil Ash 67%
David Gowan, Sr. 67%
John McComish 67%
Warde Nichols 67%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 67%
Ted Vogt 67%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 66%
Amanda Reeve 66%
Ray Barnes 65%
Rich Crandall 65%
Adam Driggs 65%
Doris Goodale 65%
Vic Williams 65%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 64%
Tom Boone 63%
David Stevens 63%
Russ Jones 61%
Lucy Mason 61%
John Nelson 61%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 61%
Bill Konopnicki 59%
Carolyn Allen 53%
Amanda Aguirre 48%
Barbara McGuire 46%
Manny Alvarez 44%
Matthew Heinz 42%
Leah Landrum Taylor 42%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 42%
Chad Campbell 41%
Ken Cheuvront 39%
Albert Hale 39%
Jorge Garcia 38%
Eric Meyer 38%
Rae Waters 38%
Jack Brown 37%
Linda Lopez 36%
Chris Deschene 35%
Lynne Pancrazi 35%
Paula Aboud 34%
Daniel Patterson 34%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 34%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 33%
Nancy Young Wright 33%
Tom Chabin 32%
Meg Burton Cahill 31%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 31%
Martha Garcia 30%
David Lujan 30%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 30%
Phil Lopes 29%
Debbie McCune Davis 29%
Ben Miranda 29%
Ed Ableser 28%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 28%
Pat Fleming 28%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 27%
Anna Tovar 27%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 26%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top