Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 75%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 43%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 61%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 31%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 36%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 67%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 52%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 38%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 38%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 52%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 47%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 52%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 64%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 35%
Ed Ableser 39%
Paula Aboud 31%
Kirk Adams 50%
Amanda Aguirre 39%
Carolyn Allen 47%
Manny Alvarez 33%
Frank Antenori 52%
Cecil Ash 52%
Ray Barnes 56%
Tom Boone 55%
Jack Brown 39%
Robert Burns 50%
Meg Burton Cahill 29%
Chad Campbell 33%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 44%
Tom Chabin 33%
Ken Cheuvront 46%
Steve Court 55%
Rich Crandall 55%
Sam Crump 50%
Chris Deschene 35%
Adam Driggs 54%
Pat Fleming 29%
Maria Garcia 38%
Martha Garcia 38%
Doris Goodale 50%
Pamela Gorman 64%
Ron Gould 83%
David Gowan, Sr. 50%
Chuck Gray 64%
Linda Gray 51%
Albert Hale 39%
Jack Harper 69%
Matthew Heinz 35%
Laurin Hendrix 57%
John Huppenthal 44%
Russ Jones 50%
Bill Konopnicki 46%
Leah Landrum Taylor 33%
Barbara Leff 42%
Debbie Lesko 55%
Phil Lopes 35%
Linda Lopez 29%
David Lujan 32%
Lucy Mason 62%
John McComish 50%
Debbie McCune Davis 40%
Barbara McGuire 43%
Nancy McLain 48%
Al Melvin 42%
Eric Meyer 42%
Steve Montenegro 57%
Rick Murphy 62%
John Nelson 38%
Warde Nichols 54%
Lynne Pancrazi 39%
Jonathan Paton 46%
Daniel Patterson 37%
Russell Pearce 67%
Steve Pierce 44%
Doug Quelland 51%
Carl Seel 60%
David Stevens 52%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 48%
Anna Tovar 33%
Thayer Verschoor 50%
Rae Waters 36%
Jim Weiers 55%
Vic Williams 52%
Nancy Young Wright 37%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top