Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Education Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 96%
Rick Murphy 93%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 92%
Robert Burns 92%
Pamela Gorman 92%
John Huppenthal 92%
Al Melvin 92%
John Nelson 92%
Steve Pierce 92%
Thayer Verschoor 92%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 92%
Linda Gray 88%
Jonathan Paton 88%
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 86%
Laurin Hendrix 86%
Warde Nichols 86%
Carl Seel 86%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 86%
Ron Gould 83%
Chuck Gray 83%
Jack Harper 83%
Barbara Leff 83%
Russell Pearce 83%
AZ State Senate 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 82%
Kirk Adams 79%
Frank Antenori 79%
Cecil Ash 79%
Tom Boone 79%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 79%
Steve Court 79%
Sam Crump 79%
Doris Goodale 79%
David Gowan, Sr. 79%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 79%
John McComish 79%
Nancy McLain 79%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 79%
David Stevens 79%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 79%
Jim Weiers 79%
Vic Williams 79%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 75%
Adam Driggs 75%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 75%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 75%
Ray Barnes 71%
Bill Konopnicki 71%
Russ Jones 68%
Carolyn Allen 67%
Manny Alvarez 67%
Leah Landrum Taylor 67%
Doug Quelland 64%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 64%
Lucy Mason 61%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 61%
Rae Waters 61%
Maria Garcia 58%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 57%
Rich Crandall 57%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 57%
Lynne Pancrazi 57%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 57%
Jack Brown 54%
Ken Cheuvront 54%
Linda Lopez 54%
Eric Meyer 54%
Daniel Patterson 54%
Amanda Aguirre 50%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 50%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 50%
Tom Chabin 50%
Albert Hale 50%
Phil Lopes 50%
Debbie McCune Davis 50%
Barbara McGuire 50%
Ed Ableser 46%
Meg Burton Cahill 46%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 46%
Martha Garcia 46%
Matthew Heinz 46%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 46%
Nancy Young Wright 46%
Chad Campbell 43%
Chris Deschene 43%
Pat Fleming 43%
David Lujan 43%
Anna Tovar 36%
Paula Aboud 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top