Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2007 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ron Gould 77%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 68%
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 67%
Pamela Gorman 67%
Russell Pearce 67%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 66%
Jack Harper 64%
Chuck Gray 61%
Karen Johnson 61%
Thayer Verschoor 59%
Doug Clark 58%
Rick Murphy 58%
Warde Nichols 55%
Trish Groe 54%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 54%
Ray Barnes 53%
Robert Burns 53%
Sam Crump 53%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 53%
Kirk Adams 52%
Franklin Flake 52%
Bob Stump 52%
Mark Anderson 51%
Robert Blendu 50%
John Huppenthal 50%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 49%
John McComish 49%
Jim Weiers 48%
Nancy McLain 47%
Lucy Mason 46%
Marian Ann McClure 46%
Bob Robson 46%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 45%
Adam Driggs 45%
Carolyn Allen 44%
Timothy Bee 44%
Linda Gray 44%
John Nelson 44%
Jonathan Paton 44%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 44%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 43%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 43%
Tom Boone 42%
Ken Cheuvront 42%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 42%
Barbara Leff 41%
Jennifer Burns 40%
Pete Hershberger 40%
Bill Konopnicki 40%
AZ U.S. House 1 Tom O'Halleran Democratic 39%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 39%
Marsha Arzberger 38%
Mark DeSimone 38%
Albert Hale 38%
Amanda Aguirre 37%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 37%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 36%
Linda Lopez 36%
Barbara McGuire 36%
Albert Tom 36%
Martha Garcia 35%
Ben Miranda 35%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 35%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 35%
Lena Saradnik 35%
Manny Alvarez 34%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 34%
Lynne Pancrazi 34%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 34%
Victor Soltero 34%
Theresa Ulmer 34%
Jack Brown 33%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 33%
Paula Aboud 32%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 32%
Jorge Garcia 32%
Ann Kirkpatrick 32%
David Lujan 32%
Charlene Pesquiera 32%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo Democratic 31%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 31%
Jackie Thrasher 31%
Ed Ableser 30%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
Chad Campbell 30%
Leah Landrum Taylor 30%
Phil Lopes 30%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 29%
Debbie McCune Davis 29%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top