Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2007 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ed Ableser 30%
Paula Aboud 32%
Kirk Adams 52%
Amanda Aguirre 37%
Carolyn Allen 44%
Manny Alvarez 34%
Mark Anderson 51%
Marsha Arzberger 38%
Ray Barnes 53%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 49%
Timothy Bee 44%
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 67%
Robert Blendu 50%
Tom Boone 42%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 34%
Jack Brown 33%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 68%
Jennifer Burns 40%
Robert Burns 53%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 32%
Chad Campbell 30%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 36%
Ken Cheuvront 42%
Doug Clark 58%
Rich Crandall 45%
Sam Crump 53%
Mark DeSimone 38%
Adam Driggs 45%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 29%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 66%
Franklin Flake 52%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 31%
Jorge Garcia 32%
Martha Garcia 35%
Pamela Gorman 67%
Ron Gould 77%
Chuck Gray 61%
Linda Gray 44%
Trish Groe 54%
Albert Hale 38%
Jack Harper 64%
Pete Hershberger 40%
John Huppenthal 50%
Karen Johnson 61%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 53%
Ann Kirkpatrick 32%
Bill Konopnicki 40%
Leah Landrum Taylor 30%
Barbara Leff 41%
Phil Lopes 30%
Linda Lopez 36%
David Lujan 32%
Lucy Mason 46%
Marian Ann McClure 46%
John McComish 49%
Debbie McCune Davis 29%
Barbara McGuire 36%
Nancy McLain 47%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 33%
Ben Miranda 35%
Rick Murphy 58%
John Nelson 44%
Warde Nichols 55%
AZ U.S. House 1 Tom O'Halleran Democratic 39%
Lynne Pancrazi 34%
Jonathan Paton 44%
Russell Pearce 67%
Charlene Pesquiera 32%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 35%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 42%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 35%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 37%
Bob Robson 46%
Lena Saradnik 35%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 31%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 34%
Victor Soltero 34%
Bob Stump 52%
Jackie Thrasher 31%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny 43%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 39%
Albert Tom 36%
Theresa Ulmer 34%
Thayer Verschoor 59%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 43%
Jim Weiers 48%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 54%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 44%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top