Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of California

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Loni Hancock 100%
Dave Jones 100%
Mark Leno 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Elaine Alquist 93%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 93%
Amina Carter 93%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 93%
Mike Eng 93%
Fiona Ma 93%
Pedro Nava 93%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 93%
Lori Saldaña 93%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 93%
Sandré Swanson 93%
Lois Wolk 93%
Charles Calderon 92%
Mary Hayashi 87%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 87%
Christine Kehoe 87%
Juan Arambula 86%
Joe Coto 86%
Noreen Evans 86%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 86%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 86%
Alberto Torrico 86%
Warren Furutani 85%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 85%
Gloria Romero 85%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 81%
Hector De La Torre 80%
Leland Yee 80%
Mike Davis 79%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 79%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 79%
Denise Ducheny 77%
Dean Florez 71%
Jenny Oropeza 69%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 64%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 64%
Jose Solorio 64%
Ron Calderon 57%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 57%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 54%
Roy Ashburn 33%
Abel Maldonado 33%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 31%
Mark Wyland 30%
Anthony Adams 29%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 29%
Sam Blakeslee 29%
Tony Strickland 29%
Audra Strickland 29%
Samuel Aanestad 27%
Bill Emmerson 27%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 27%
Robert Huff 27%
Dave Cox 25%
David Cogdill 23%
Charles DeVore 23%
Bill Berryhill 21%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 21%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 21%
Martin Garrick 21%
Dennis Hollingsworth 21%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 21%
Cameron Smyth 21%
Jim Silva 20%
Michael Duvall 14%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 14%
Roger Niello 14%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Mike Villines 14%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 14%
Robert Dutton 13%
Tom Harman 13%
Van Tran 10%
John Benoit 7%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top