Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vermont National Federation of Independent Business

2007-2008 Positions on Pro-Small Business Policy

State Office District Name Party Rating
Steven Adams 100
VT State House Windsor-Orange-1 David Ainsworth Republican 100
Joseph Baker 100
VT State House Chittenden-9-2 Patrick Brennan Republican 100
VT State House Rutland-3 William Canfield Democratic, Republican 100
Gregory Clark 100
John Clerkin 100
Howard Crawford 100
VT State House Rutland-Windsor-2 Dennis Devereux Republican 100
Andrew Donaghy 100
VT State Senate Rutland Peg Flory Republican 100
Sandra Grenier 100
VT State House Rutland-3 Robert Helm Democratic, Republican 100
Richard Hube 100
William Johnson 100
Duncan Kilmartin 100
Thomas Koch 100
Patricia Komline 100
Joseph Krawczyk, Jr. 100
Leigh Larocque 100
VT State House Caledonia-4 Richard Lawrence Republican 100
Robert Lewis 100
VT State House Orleans-2 Michael Marcotte Democratic, Republican 100
Hull Maynard 100
Norman McAllister 100
Patricia McDonald 100
James McNeil 100
John Morley III 100
VT State House Bennington-2-2 Mary Morrissey Republican 100
Patricia O'Donnell 100
Janice Peaslee 100
VT State House Lamoille-1 Heidi Scheuermann Republican 100
VT State House Chittenden-10 Donald Turner, Jr. Republican 100
VT State Senate Lamoille Richard Westman Republican 100
Philip Winters 100
VT Council Member Ward 4 Kurt Wright Republican 100
VT State House Chittenden-6-1 Kurt Wright Republican 100
Diane Snelling 88
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans Robert Starr Democratic 88
VT State Senate Franklin Carolyn Branagan Republican 86
VT State House Washington-1 Anne Donahue Republican 86
Bill Doyle 86
VT State House Chittenden-8-1 Linda Myers Republican 86
Kevin Mullin 83
Susan Bartlett 75
Vincent Illuzzi 75
VT State Senate Caledonia Jane Kitchel Democratic 75
Hinda Miller 75
Doug Racine 75
Joe Acinapura 71
VT State House Bennington-2-1 Timothy Corcoran II Democratic 71
VT State Senate Addison Claire Ayer Democratic 63
Bill Carris 63
Harold Giard 63
VT State Senate Chittenden Ginny Lyons Democratic 63
VT State Senate Grand Isle Dick Mazza Democratic 63
VT State Senate Windsor Dick McCormack Democratic 63
VT State Senate Windsor Alice Nitka Democratic 63
VT Governor Phil Scott Republican 63
VT State Senate Bennington Richard Sears, Jr. Democratic 63
Peter Shumlin 63
VT State Senate Windham Jeanette White Democratic 63
John Campbell 57
VT State Senate Washington Ann Cummings Democratic 57
William Stevens 57
Scott Wheeler 57
VT State House Chittenden-9-1 Jim Condon Democratic 50
Bob Hartwell 50
Sara Kittell 50
Debbie Evans 43
Edward Flanagan 43
VT State House Franklin-3-1 Kathleen Keenan Democratic 43
Ann Manwaring 43
VT State House Washington-2 Francis McFaun Democratic, Republican 43
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans John Rodgers Democratic 43
VT State Senate Orange Mark MacDonald Democratic 38
Albert Audette 33
Dick Howrigan, Sr. 33
VT State House Chittenden-7-2 Ann Pugh Democratic 17
VT State House Bennington-4 Cynthia Browning Democratic 14
Susan Hatch Davis 14
Sarah Edwards 14
Gary Gilbert 14
VT State House Windsor-Rutland Sandy Haas Democratic, Progressive 14
Steve Howard 14
Timothy Jerman 14
VT State House Grand Isle-Chittenden Mitzi Johnson Democratic 14
Linda Martin 14
John Moran 14
VT State House Rutland-2 Dave Potter Democratic 14
VT State House Addison-4 Dave Sharpe Democratic 14
John Zenie 14
VT Lieutenant Governor Dave Zuckerman Democratic 14
VT State House Washington-6 Janet Ancel Democratic 0
Jon Anderson 0
Margaret Andrews 0
William Aswad 0
Kenneth Atkins 0
VT State House Chittenden-6-7 Clem Bissonnette Democratic 0
VT State House Bennington-1 Bill Botzow Democratic 0
VT State Senate Addison Christopher Bray Democratic 0
Margaret Cheney 0
VT State Senate Windsor Alison Clarkson Democratic 0
Michel Consejo 0
VT State House Orange-2 Sarah Copeland-Hanzas Democratic 0
Gale Courcelle 0
VT State House Windham-4 David Deen Democratic 0
VT State House Chittenden-6-5 Johannah Donovan Democratic 0
VT State House Windsor-3-2 Alice Emmons Democratic, Working Families 0
Michael Fisher 0
William Frank 0
Patsy French 0
VT State House Washington-7 Maxine Grad Democratic 0
VT State House Chittenden-7-3 Helen Head Democratic 0
Martha Heath 0
Willem Jewett 0
VT State House Washington-4 Warren Kitzmiller Democratic 0
Tony Klein 0
Mark Larson 0
Joan Lenes 0
Lucy Leriche 0
VT State House Chittenden-4-2 Bill Lippert, Jr. Democratic 0
Jason Lorber 0
Steven Maier 0
John Malcolm 0
Richard Marek 0
Cynthia Martin 0
VT State House Windsor-Orange-2 James Masland Democratic 0
Virginia McCormick 0
VT State House Chittenden-2 Jim McCullough Democratic 0
Virginia Milkey 0
VT State House Bennington-3 Alice Miller Democratic 0
Sue Minter 0
Mark Mitchell 0
Anne Mook 0
VT State House Windham-4 Mike Mrowicki Democratic 0
Floyd Nease 0
Betty Nuovo 0
Michael John Obuchowski 0
Scott Orr 0
VT State House Windham-3 Carolyn Partridge Democratic 0
Kathy Pellett 0
VT State Board of Education Peter Peltz Democratic 0
Ernest Shand 0
Shap Smith, Jr. 0
Kristy Spengler 0
Donna Sweaney 0
Ira Trombley 0
Rachel Weston 0

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top