State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 20%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 21%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 22%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 95%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 25%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-46 Lou Correa D 82%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 99%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 100%
CA State Senate-19 Hannah-Beth Jackson D 99%
CA State Senate-36 Pat Bates R 23%
CA Mayor-At-Large Darrell Steinberg D 100%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan 99%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 44%
CA Supervisor-5 Bruce McPherson 52%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 99%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz 96%
CA Council Member-10 Herb Wesson, Jr. 98%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 33%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 94%
Samuel Aanestad 20%
Richard Ackerman 15%
Gregory Aghazarian 27%
Richard Alarcón 98%
Deirdre Alpert 98%
Roy Ashburn 18%
James Battin 21%
John Benoit 29%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Russell Bogh 25%
Debra Bowen 92%
James Brulte 13%
John Burton 100%
Ron Calderon 96%
John Campbell III 21%
Joseph Canciamilla 92%
Edward Chavez 98%
Wesley Chesbro 98%
David Cogdill 25%
Rebecca Cohn 97%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Dave Cox 21%
Lynn Daucher 51%
Manny Diaz 98%
Denise Ducheny 92%
Joe Dunn 96%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Robert Dutton 28%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 99%
Liz Figueroa 98%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 73%
Dean Florez 76%
Dario Frommer 99%
Bonnie Garcia 44%
Jackie Goldberg 98%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 30%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 22%
Dennis Hollingsworth 15%
Jerome Horton 91%
Shirley Horton 51%
Guy Houston 31%
Ross Johnson 39%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 22%
Christine Kehoe 100%
William Knight 18%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 25%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 28%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 98%
John Longville 100%
Michael Machado 98%
Ken Maddox 34%
Abel Maldonado 46%
Bob Margett 26%
Barbara Matthews 75%
Bill Maze 27%
Cindy Montañez 99%
William Phillip Morrow 23%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 16%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 98%
George Nakano 93%
Joseph Nation 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Thomas Oller 19%
Jenny Oropeza 92%
Deborah Ortiz 94%
Robert Pacheco 30%
Nicole Parra 81%
Fran Pavley 99%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 31%
Charles Poochigian 16%
Sarah Reyes 87%
Keith Stuart Richman 56%
Gloria Romero 96%
Sharon Runner 23%
Simón Salinas 97%
Steve Samuelian 23%
Jack Scott 99%
Byron Sher 99%
Nell Soto 98%
Tony Strickland 24%
John Vasconcellos 93%
Edward Vincent 88%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Lois Wolk 99%
Mark Wyland 27%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.