Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Family Foundation of Virginia

2002-2003 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Clifford Athey, Jr. 100%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 100%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 100%
Bill Bolling 100%
L. Bryant, Jr. 100%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 100%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 100%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 100%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 100%
Ken Cuccinelli II 100%
Allen Wayne Dudley 100%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 100%
Clarke Hogan 100%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 100%
Bill Janis 100%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 100%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 100%
Stephen Martin 100%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 100%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 100%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 100%
Dave Nutter 100%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 100%
Melanie Rapp 100%
Christopher Saxman 100%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 100%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 94%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 94%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 94%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 94%
Allen Louderback 94%
Bradley Marrs 94%
Bob McDonnell 94%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 94%
John Spence Reid 94%
John Welch III 94%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 93%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 93%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 93%
Lacey Putney 93%
D. Nick Rerras 93%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 93%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 92%
Walter Stosch 92%
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 92%
Martin Williams 92%
James O'Brien, Jr. 91%
Robert Hurt 88%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 88%
Michéle McQuigg 88%
Gary Reese 88%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 88%
Glenn Weatherholtz 88%
Thomas Bolvin 87%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 87%
Thomas Gear 87%
Glenn Oder 87%
Clarence Phillips 87%
Beverly Sherwood 87%
Jackie Thomas Stump 87%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 86%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 86%
Phillip Hamilton 82%
Kenneth Stolle 81%
Robert Tata 81%
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 80%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 80%
Malfourd Trumbo 80%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 80%
Joe May 79%
Terrie Suit 79%
Winsome Earle Sears 78%
Charles Colgan, Sr. 77%
William Wampler, Jr. 77%
Thelma Drake 76%
Charles Hawkins 75%
Kevin Grey Miller 75%
Thomas Rust 75%
Ward Armstrong 73%
John Adams Rollison III 73%
Alfred Victor Thomas 73%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 72%
George Broman Jr. 71%
John Chichester 71%
Bob Purkey 71%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 69%
Johnny Joannou 67%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 67%
Phillip Puckett 67%
John Watkins 67%
Harry Potts, Jr. 65%
Harry Blevins 60%
Harry Parrish 60%
Frederick Quayle 55%
Harvey Morgan 54%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 53%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 50%
Edd Houck 47%
W.B. Keister 44%
W. Henry Maxwell 42%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 36%
William Barlow 33%
William Reynolds 33%
VA State Board of Education James Dillard II 31%
Robert Bloxom 29%
Franklin Hall 27%
James Shuler 27%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 25%
Yvonne Miller 25%
Patricia Ticer 25%
Kristen Amundson 21%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 21%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 20%
Brian Moran 19%
Leslie Byrne 17%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 17%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 15%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones 14%
Henry Marsh III 14%
VA Supervisor At-Large Floyd Miles, Sr. 14%
Fenton Bland, Jr. 13%
Mary Taylor Christian 13%
Toddy Puller 13%
Mary Margaret Whipple 13%
Robert Hull 12%
Kenneth Melvin 12%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 12%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 11%
Mitchell Van Yahres 11%
VA Mayor At-Large Kenny Alexander Democratic 10%
Robert Brink 7%
Flora Davis Crittenden 7%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 7%
James Scott 7%
VA State Senate 7 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 7%
Marian Amelia Van Landingham 7%
Clifton Alexander Woodrum 7%
James Frederick Almand 6%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 6%
L. Karen Darner 6%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top