Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Cato Institute

1997-1998 Trade Subsidy Votes Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 17%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 17%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 57%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 44%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 14%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 11%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 33%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 33%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 11%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 11%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 33%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 11%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 25%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 33%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 33%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 22%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 22%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 44%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 33%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 67%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 44%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 33%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 11%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 33%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 22%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 38%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 11%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 11%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 11%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 44%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 33%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 38%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 33%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 56%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 22%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 0%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 22%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 22%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 33%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 33%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 13%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 33%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 22%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 67%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 78%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 25%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 50%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 33%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 50%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 33%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 22%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 44%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 33%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 25%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 22%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 38%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 22%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 11%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 17%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 38%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 33%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 33%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 22%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 67%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 44%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 33%
Neil Abercrombie 0%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 67%
Gary Ackerman 14%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 33%
Wayne Allard 100%
Thomas Allen 13%
Rob Andrews 44%
Bill Archer 56%
Richard Armey 78%
John Ashcroft 67%
Spencer Bachus 78%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 83%
Richard Hugh Baker 33%
Cass Ballenger 44%
James Barcia 11%
Bob Barr, Jr. 50%
Bill Barrett 33%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
Joe Barton 8%
Charlie Bass 67%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 38%
Max Baucus 50%
Bob Bennett 33%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 33%
Douglas Bereuter 33%
Howard Berman 25%
Marion Berry 33%
Joe Biden, Jr. 60%
Brian Bilbray 67%
Michael Bilirakis 22%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
Rod Blagojevich 33%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 44%
Sherwood Boehlert 11%
John Boehner 25%
Kit Bond 50%
Henry Bonilla 44%
David Edward Bonior 11%
Mary Bono Mack 44%
Robert Borski, Jr. 11%
Leonard Boswell 33%
Rick Boucher 11%
Barbara Boxer 17%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 11%
John Breaux 33%
Corrine Brown 11%
Sam Brownback 83%
Richard Bryan 67%
Ed Bryant 44%
Conrad Burns 25%
Dan Burton 38%
Steve Buyer 33%
Robert Byrd 50%
Herbert Callahan 50%
Dave Camp 44%
Ben Campbell 17%
Thomas Campbell 89%
Chris Cannon 56%
Lois Capps 11%
Julia Carson 22%
Mike Castle 44%
Lincoln Chafee 50%
Saxby Chambliss 33%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 44%
Donna Christensen 33%
William Clay, Sr. 11%
Eva Clayton 0%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 50%
Robert Clement 33%
Howard Coble 78%
Thomas Coburn 25%
Thad Cochran 50%
Michael Collins 63%
Larry Combest 33%
Gary Condit 22%
Kent Conrad 33%
John Conyers, Jr. 56%
Merrill Cook 22%
John Cooksey 43%
Jerry Costello 22%
Christopher Cox 56%
William Coyne 11%
Larry Craig 67%
Robert Cramer 22%
Philip Crane 89%
Barbara Cubin 50%
Randall Cunningham 67%
Patsy Ann Danner 11%
Thomas Daschle 50%
James Davis 33%
Thomas Davis III 56%
Nathan Deal 38%
Bill Delahunt 22%
Thomas DeLay 67%
Peter Deutsch 22%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 22%
Jay Dickey 22%
Norm Dicks 44%
John Dingell 22%
Julian Dixon 22%
Chris Dodd 67%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
Calvin Dooley 44%
John Doolittle 22%
Byron Dorgan 50%
David Dreier 44%
John Duncan, Jr. 44%
Jennifer Dunn 44%
Chet Edwards 25%
Vern Ehlers 50%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 44%
Jo Ann Emerson 44%
Philip English 44%
Bob Etheridge 22%
Lane Evans 11%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top