Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sierra Club California

2008 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Elaine Alquist 100%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin De Leon Democratic 100%
Mike Eng 100%
Noreen Evans 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 100%
Warren Furutani 100%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
Dave Jones 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 90%
Joe Coto 90%
Mike Davis 90%
Hector De La Torre 90%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 90%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 90%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 90%
Fiona Ma 90%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 90%
Jose Solorio 90%
Alberto Torrico 90%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 89%
Denise Ducheny 86%
Jenny Oropeza 86%
Gloria Romero 86%
Leland Yee 86%
Juan Arambula 80%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 80%
Amina Carter 80%
Charles Calderon 67%
Sam Blakeslee 60%
Abel Maldonado 57%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 57%
Ron Calderon 43%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 43%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 30%
Cameron Smyth 30%
Audra Strickland 30%
Tom Harman 29%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 20%
Bill Emmerson 20%
Roger Niello 20%
Dave Cox 14%
Van Tran 13%
Anthony Adams 10%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 10%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 10%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 0%
Roy Ashburn 0%
David Cogdill 0%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
Charles DeVore 0%
Robert Dutton 0%
Michael Duvall 0%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 0%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 0%
Martin Garrick 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Jim Silva 0%
Mike Villines 0%
Mark Wyland 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top