Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sierra Club California

2008 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 10%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 90%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 30%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 90%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 10%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 90%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 0%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 80%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 43%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 90%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 100%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 89%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Anthony Adams 10%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 80%
Roy Ashburn 0%
Sam Blakeslee 60%
Charles Calderon 67%
Ron Calderon 43%
Amina Carter 80%
David Cogdill 0%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Joe Coto 90%
Dave Cox 14%
Mike Davis 90%
Hector De La Torre 90%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 86%
Robert Dutton 0%
Michael Duvall 0%
Bill Emmerson 20%
Mike Eng 100%
Noreen Evans 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 100%
Warren Furutani 100%
Martin Garrick 0%
Tom Harman 29%
Mary Hayashi 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Dave Jones 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Fiona Ma 90%
Abel Maldonado 57%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 57%
Roger Niello 20%
Jenny Oropeza 86%
Gloria Romero 86%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jim Silva 0%
Cameron Smyth 30%
Audra Strickland 30%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Alberto Torrico 90%
Van Tran 13%
Mike Villines 0%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Mark Wyland 0%
Leland Yee 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top