Rating Group: South Carolina Chamber of Commerce

2008 Positions on Pro-Business Policy

State Office Name Party Rating
NA Director of the Office of Management & Budget Mick Mulvaney R 77
SC U.S. House-3 Jeff Duncan R 86
SC Lieutenant Governor Kevin Bryant R 64
SC State House-1 William Whitmire R 92
SC State House-2 William Sandifer III R 86
SC State House-4 Davey Hiott R 92
SC State House-6 Brian White R 86
SC State House-12 Anne Parks D 92
SC State House-14 Michael Pitts R 89
SC State House-19 Dwight Loftis R 80
SC State House-24 Bruce Bannister R 85
SC State House-27 Garry Smith R 80
SC State House-29 Dennis Moss R 85
SC State House-42 Mike Anthony D 100
SC State House-43 Greg Delleney, Jr. R 85
SC State House-46 Gary Simrill R 83
SC State House-51 J. David Weeks D 85
SC State House-52 Laurie Funderburk D 85
SC State House-55 Jackie Hayes D 82
SC State House-59 Terry Alexander D 100
SC State House-60 Phillip Lowe R 86
SC State House-62 Robert Williams D 86
SC State House-65 James Lucas R 79
SC State House-66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter D 73
SC State House-67 Murrell Smith, Jr. R 83
SC State House-71 Nathan Ballentine R 92
SC State House-72 James Smith, Jr. D 100
SC State House-73 Chris Hart D 92
SC State House-74 Todd Rutherford D 100
SC State House-76 Leon Howard D 100
SC State House-80 Jimmy Bales D 85
SC State House-82 William Clyburn, Sr. D 92
SC State House-85 Chip Huggins R 92
SC State House-88 McLain Toole R 86
SC State House-91 Lonnie Hosey D 91
SC State House-92 Joe Daning R 85
SC State House-95 Jerry Govan, Jr. D 100
SC State House-96 Kit Spires R 92
SC State House-97 Patsy Knight D 92
SC State House-102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. D 93
SC State House-103 Carl Anderson D 91
SC State House-107 Alan Clemmons R 85
SC State House-109 David Mack III D 75
SC State House-116 Robert Brown D 92
SC State House-118 Bill Herbkersman R 85
SC State House-119 Leon Stavrinakis D 93
SC State House-122 Bill Bowers D 82
SC State House-124 Shannon Erickson R 86
SC State Senate-1 Thomas Alexander R 100
SC State Senate-2 Rex Rice R 85
SC State Senate-4 Mike Gambrell R 85
SC State Senate-7 Karl Allen D 100
SC State Senate-9 Danny Verdin III R 83
SC State Senate-11 Glenn Reese D 92
SC State Senate-12 Scott Talley R 73
SC State Senate-14 Harvey Peeler, Jr. R 92
SC State Senate-16 Greg Gregory R 91
SC State Senate-18 Ronnie Cromer R 100
SC State Senate-19 John Scott, Jr. D 85
SC State Senate-20 John Courson R 90
SC State Senate-21 Darrell Jackson D 92
SC State Senate-25 Shane Massey R 83
SC State Senate-26 Nikki Setzler D 100
SC State Senate-27 Vincent Sheheen D 100
SC State Senate-29 Gerald Malloy D 92
SC State Senate-30 Kent Williams D 91
SC State Senate-31 Hugh Leatherman, Sr. R 100
SC State Senate-33 Luke Rankin, Sr. R 100
SC State Senate-37 Larry Grooms R 82
SC State Senate-39 John Matthews, Jr. D 90
SC State Senate-40 Brad Hutto D 83
SC State Senate-43 Chip Campsen III R 67
SC State Senate-44 Paul Campbell, Jr. R 100
Paul Agnew 90
Ralph Anderson 91
Liston Barfield 89
James Battle, Jr. 75
Eric Bedingfield 82
Kenneth Bingham 85
Don Bowen 85
Joan Brady 86
Lester Branham, Jr. 85
Curtis Brantley 85
Floyd Breeland 92
Grady Brown 83
Harry Cato 83
Catherine Ceips 100
Richard Chalk, Jr. 85
Ray Cleary III 100
Creighton Coleman 91
Daniel Cooper 86
William Cotty 85
Kristopher Crawford 85
Thomas Dantzler 92
Guy Davenport, Jr. 71
John Drummond 100
Tracy Edge 83
Dick Elliott 100
Michael Fair 92
Robert Ford 90
Marion Frye 82
Carl Gullick 93
Ben Hagood, Jr. 71
Nikki Haley 86
Glenn Hamilton 63
Nelson Hardwick 92
Robert Harrell, Jr. 86
James Harrison 83
Cathy Harvin 100
Gloria Haskins 75
John Hawkins 92
Wes Hayes, Jr. 100
Kenneth Hodges 85
Heyward Hutson 80
Douglas Jennings, Jr. 92
Keith Kelly 85
Kenneth Kennedy 75
Herbert Kirsh 86
Jake Knotts, Jr. 100
John Land III 91
Robert Leach, Sr. 85
Phil Leventis 92
Chip Limehouse III 89
Lanny Littlejohn 83
Joel Lourie 92
Joseph Mahaffey, Sr. 93
Larry Martin 100
Glenn McConnell 83
Yancey McGill 92
Walton McLeod III 86
James Merrill 73
Vida Miller 92
Harold Mitchell, Jr. 92
Bessie Moody-Lawrence 100
James Neal 100
Joseph Neal 75
Denny Neilson 79
William O'Dell 100
Harry Ott, Jr. 85
Phillip Owens 93
Kay Patterson 92
Robert Perry, Jr. 86
Olin Phillips 100
Clementa Pinckney 90
Lewis Pinson 91
Edward Pitts, Jr. 86
James Ritchie, Jr. 78
Greg Ryberg 60
Wallace Scarborough 93
Randy Scott 100
Bakari Sellers 85
Phillip Shoopman 77
Linda Short 100
B. R. Skelton 93
Donald Smith 70
Fletcher Smith, Jr. 92
Roland Smith 85
William Smith 88
James Stewart, Jr. 60
Adam Taylor, Sr. 83
David Thomas 100
Michael Thompson 86
C. David Umphlett, Jr. 86
Lewis Raymond Vaughn 67
Ted Vick 100
Thad Viers 100
Robert Walker 83
Seth Whipper 80
William Witherspoon 83
Annette Young 79

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »