Rating Group: South Carolina Chamber of Commerce

2005-2006 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
SC U.S. House-3 Jeff Duncan R 60%
SC U.S. House-5 Ralph Norman, Jr. R 67%
SC Lieutenant Governor Kevin Bryant R 89%
SC State House-1 William Whitmire R 67%
SC State House-2 William Sandifer III R 69%
SC State House-4 Davey Hiott R 82%
SC State House-6 Brian White R 69%
SC State House-12 Anne Parks D 36%
SC State House-14 Michael Pitts R 64%
SC State House-19 Dwight Loftis R 75%
SC State House-24 Bruce Bannister R 50%
SC State House-27 Garry Smith R 77%
SC State House-31 Harold Mitchell, Jr. D 63%
SC State House-42 Mike Anthony D 70%
SC State House-43 Greg Delleney, Jr. R 62%
SC State House-46 Gary Simrill R 62%
SC State House-51 J. David Weeks D 67%
SC State House-52 Laurie Funderburk D 40%
SC State House-55 Jackie Hayes D 67%
SC State House-65 James Lucas R 42%
SC State House-66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter D 55%
SC State House-67 Murrell Smith, Jr. R 54%
SC State House-71 Nathan Ballentine R 83%
SC State House-72 James Smith, Jr. D 56%
SC State House-74 Todd Rutherford D 63%
SC State House-76 Leon Howard D 70%
SC State House-80 Jimmy Bales D 58%
SC State House-82 William Clyburn, Sr. D 42%
SC State House-85 Chip Huggins R 77%
SC State House-88 McLain Toole R 77%
SC State House-91 Lonnie Hosey D 54%
SC State House-95 Jerry Govan, Jr. D 57%
SC State House-99 James Merrill R 45%
SC State House-102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. D 67%
SC State House-103 Carl Anderson D 73%
SC State House-107 Alan Clemmons R 62%
SC State House-109 David Mack III D 42%
SC State House-113 Seth Whipper D 33%
SC State House-116 Robert Brown D 70%
SC State House-118 Bill Herbkersman R 60%
SC State House-122 Bill Bowers D 58%
SC State Senate-1 Thomas Alexander R 75%
SC State Senate-2 Rex Rice R 100%
SC State Senate-7 Karl Allen D 38%
SC State Senate-9 Danny Verdin III R 89%
SC State Senate-11 Glenn Reese D 75%
SC State Senate-12 Scott Talley R 42%
SC State Senate-14 Harvey Peeler, Jr. R 89%
SC State Senate-16 Greg Gregory R 100%
SC State Senate-18 Ronnie Cromer R 78%
SC State Senate-19 John Scott, Jr. D 62%
SC State Senate-20 John Courson R 78%
SC State Senate-21 Darrell Jackson D 67%
SC State Senate-26 Nikki Setzler D 44%
SC State Senate-27 Vincent Sheheen D 44%
SC State Senate-29 Gerald Malloy D 67%
SC State Senate-30 Kent Williams D 78%
SC State Senate-31 Hugh Leatherman, Sr. R 88%
SC State Senate-33 Luke Rankin, Sr. R 63%
SC State Senate-37 Larry Grooms R 89%
SC State Senate-39 John Matthews, Jr. D 75%
SC State Senate-40 Brad Hutto D 75%
SC State Senate-43 Chip Campsen III R 78%
SC Council Member-3 George Bailey R 75%
SC Treasurer Converse Chellis III 69%
Paul Agnew 38%
John Graham Altman III 25%
Ralph Anderson 50%
Liston Barfield 77%
James Battle, Jr. 82%
Kenneth Bingham 75%
Joan Brady 58%
Lester Branham, Jr. 70%
Floyd Breeland 46%
Grady Brown 70%
Joe Brown 60%
Harry Cato 69%
Catherine Ceips 82%
Richard Chalk, Jr. 62%
Ken Clark 77%
Ray Cleary III 78%
Marty Coates 63%
Creighton Coleman 42%
Daniel Cooper 77%
William Cotty 60%
Thomas Dantzler 77%
Guy Davenport, Jr. 73%
John Drummond 67%
Tracy Edge 67%
Dick Elliott 67%
Eldridge Emory 50%
Michael Fair 89%
Robert Ford 71%
Marion Frye 77%
Ben Hagood, Jr. 50%
Nikki Haley 77%
Glenn Hamilton 55%
Nelson Hardwick 75%
Robert Harrell, Jr. 77%
James Harrison 50%
Cathy Harvin 43%
Gloria Haskins 50%
John Hawkins 67%
Wes Hayes, Jr. 78%
Jesse Edison Hines 90%
Mack Hines, Jr. 83%
Shirley Hinson 69%
Kenneth Hodges 70%
Douglas Jennings, Jr. 50%
Kenneth Kennedy 67%
Herbert Kirsh 58%
Jake Knotts, Jr. 56%
John Land III 63%
Robert Leach, Sr. 70%
Phil Leventis 43%
Chip Limehouse III 69%
Lanny Littlejohn 73%
Joel Lourie 67%
Joseph Mahaffey, Sr. 54%
Becky Martin 73%
Larry Martin 78%
Glenn McConnell 78%
E. DeWitt McCraw 54%
James McGee III 62%
John McGill 78%
Walton McLeod III 42%
William Mescher 89%
Vida Miller 62%
Bessie Moody-Lawrence 45%
Tommy Moore 71%
James Neal 30%
Joseph Neal 50%
Denny Neilson 50%
William O'Dell 89%
Harry Ott, Jr. 64%
Phillip Owens 92%
Kay Patterson 63%
Robert Perry, Jr. 83%
Olin Phillips 50%
Clementa Pinckney 56%
Lewis Pinson 75%
Edward Pitts, Jr. 77%
Thomas Rhoad 55%
Scott Richardson 89%
James Ritchie, Jr. 89%
R. Thayer Rivers, Jr. 56%
Greg Ryberg 89%
Wallace Scarborough 58%
Randy Scott 63%
Linda Short 50%
Phillip Sinclair 50%
B. R. Skelton 69%
Donald Smith 69%
Fletcher Smith, Jr. 38%
Roland Smith 77%
Jefferson Verne Smith 100%
William Smith 56%
James Stewart, Jr. 58%
Adam Taylor, Sr. 67%
David Thomas 67%
Michael Thompson 69%
Ronald Parker Townsend 70%
Daniel Tripp 56%
C. David Umphlett, Jr. 64%
Lewis Raymond Vaughn 70%
Ted Vick 50%
Thad Viers 64%
Robert Walker 69%
William Witherspoon 75%
Annette Young 77%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.