Rating Group: South Carolina Chamber of Commerce

2005 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
SC U.S. House-3 Jeff Duncan R 70%
SC U.S. House-5 Ralph Norman, Jr. R 92%
SC Lieutenant Governor Kevin Bryant R 80%
SC State House-1 William Whitmire R 75%
SC State House-2 William Sandifer III R 58%
SC State House-4 Davey Hiott R 73%
SC State House-6 Brian White R 46%
SC State House-12 Anne Parks D 45%
SC State House-14 Michael Pitts R 75%
SC State House-19 Dwight Loftis R 58%
SC State House-27 Garry Smith R 77%
SC State House-42 Mike Anthony D 67%
SC State House-43 Greg Delleney, Jr. R 54%
SC State House-46 Gary Simrill R 67%
SC State House-51 J. David Weeks D 69%
SC State House-52 Laurie Funderburk D 67%
SC State House-55 Jackie Hayes D 64%
SC State House-65 James Lucas R 83%
SC State House-66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter D 67%
SC State House-67 Murrell Smith, Jr. R 77%
SC State House-71 Nathan Ballentine R 69%
SC State House-72 James Smith, Jr. D 54%
SC State House-74 Todd Rutherford D 29%
SC State House-76 Leon Howard D 40%
SC State House-80 Jimmy Bales D 85%
SC State House-82 William Clyburn, Sr. D 54%
SC State House-85 Chip Huggins R 67%
SC State House-88 McLain Toole R 62%
SC State House-91 Lonnie Hosey D 50%
SC State House-95 Jerry Govan, Jr. D 56%
SC State House-102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. D 55%
SC State House-103 Carl Anderson D 55%
SC State House-107 Alan Clemmons R 77%
SC State House-109 David Mack III D 42%
SC State House-113 Seth Whipper D 54%
SC State House-116 Robert Brown D 67%
SC State House-118 Bill Herbkersman R 70%
SC State House-122 Bill Bowers D 55%
SC State Senate-1 Thomas Alexander R 80%
SC State Senate-2 Rex Rice R 77%
SC State Senate-7 Karl Allen D 67%
SC State Senate-9 Danny Verdin III R 80%
SC State Senate-11 Glenn Reese D 60%
SC State Senate-12 Scott Talley R 69%
SC State Senate-14 Harvey Peeler, Jr. R 80%
SC State Senate-16 Greg Gregory R 100%
SC State Senate-18 Ronnie Cromer R 100%
SC State Senate-19 John Scott, Jr. D 42%
SC State Senate-20 John Courson R 100%
SC State Senate-21 Darrell Jackson D 60%
SC State Senate-26 Nikki Setzler D 60%
SC State Senate-27 Vincent Sheheen D 60%
SC State Senate-29 Gerald Malloy D 60%
SC State Senate-30 Kent Williams D 80%
SC State Senate-31 Hugh Leatherman, Sr. R 100%
SC State Senate-33 Luke Rankin, Sr. R 80%
SC State Senate-37 Larry Grooms R 80%
SC State Senate-39 John Matthews, Jr. D 60%
SC State Senate-40 Brad Hutto D 60%
SC State Senate-43 Chip Campsen III R 60%
SC Council Member-3 George Bailey R 67%
SC Treasurer Converse Chellis III 82%
Paul Agnew 69%
John Graham Altman III 33%
Ralph Anderson 60%
Liston Barfield 67%
James Battle, Jr. 92%
Kenneth Bingham 62%
Joan Brady 92%
Lester Branham, Jr. 50%
Floyd Breeland 55%
Grady Brown 29%
Joe Brown 40%
Harry Cato 64%
Catherine Ceips 80%
Richard Chalk, Jr. 69%
Ken Clark 75%
Ray Cleary III 100%
Marty Coates 54%
Creighton Coleman 78%
Daniel Cooper 62%
William Cotty 73%
Thomas Dantzler 83%
Guy Davenport, Jr. 67%
John Drummond 50%
Tracy Edge 75%
Dick Elliott 80%
Eldridge Emory 82%
Michael Fair 100%
Robert Ford 50%
Marion Frye 67%
Ben Hagood, Jr. 58%
Nikki Haley 54%
Glenn Hamilton 67%
Nelson Hardwick 85%
Robert Harrell, Jr. 73%
James Harrison 82%
Cathy Harvin 0%
Gloria Haskins 69%
John Hawkins 60%
Wes Hayes, Jr. 80%
Jesse Edison Hines 55%
Mack Hines, Jr. 43%
Shirley Hinson 75%
Douglas Jennings, Jr. 67%
Kenneth Kennedy 50%
Herbert Kirsh 77%
Jake Knotts, Jr. 40%
John Land III 60%
Robert Leach, Sr. 67%
Phil Leventis 60%
Chip Limehouse III 77%
Lanny Littlejohn 83%
Joel Lourie 60%
Joseph Mahaffey, Sr. 77%
Becky Martin 75%
Larry Martin 100%
Glenn McConnell 60%
E. DeWitt McCraw 69%
James McGee III 54%
John McGill 80%
Walton McLeod III 33%
James Merrill 67%
William Mescher 80%
Vida Miller 54%
Bessie Moody-Lawrence 58%
Tommy Moore 100%
James Neal 73%
Joseph Neal 33%
Denny Neilson 91%
William O'Dell 100%
Harry Ott, Jr. 46%
Phillip Owens 69%
Kay Patterson 60%
Robert Perry, Jr. 92%
Olin Phillips 50%
Clementa Pinckney 40%
Lewis Pinson 73%
Edward Pitts, Jr. 77%
Thomas Rhoad 62%
Scott Richardson 100%
James Ritchie, Jr. 100%
R. Thayer Rivers, Jr. 57%
Greg Ryberg 80%
Wallace Scarborough 64%
Randy Scott 60%
Linda Short 60%
Phillip Sinclair 83%
B. R. Skelton 92%
Donald Smith 83%
Fletcher Smith, Jr. 71%
Roland Smith 85%
Jefferson Verne Smith 100%
William Smith 82%
James Stewart, Jr. 75%
Adam Taylor, Sr. 85%
David Thomas 80%
Michael Thompson 62%
Ronald Parker Townsend 67%
Daniel Tripp 40%
C. David Umphlett, Jr. 83%
Lewis Raymond Vaughn 62%
Ted Vick 62%
Thad Viers 70%
Robert Walker 75%
William Witherspoon 90%
Annette Young 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.