Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Virginia FREE

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 87%
Martin Williams 87%
Kenneth Stolle 86%
John Watkins 86%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 84%
Charles Colgan, Sr. 82%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 82%
Walter Stosch 81%
Harry Blevins 80%
J. Brandon Bell II 79%
Charles Hawkins 79%
James O'Brien, Jr. 79%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 78%
John Chichester 77%
VA State Senate 6 Lynwood Lewis, Jr. Democratic 76%
Edward Scott 76%
Stephen Shannon 76%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 75%
James Shuler 75%
Stephen Martin 73%
L. Bryant, Jr. 72%
Thelma Drake 72%
Glenn Oder 72%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 71%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 71%
William Fralin, Jr. 71%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 71%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 71%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 71%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 71%
Allen Louderback 71%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 71%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 71%
VA State Board of Education James Dillard II 70%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 70%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 69%
Phillip Puckett 69%
Lacey Putney 69%
Kristen Amundson 68%
Ken Cuccinelli II 68%
Franklin Hall 68%
Edd Houck 68%
Joe May 68%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 68%
Melanie Rapp 68%
Bill Bolling 67%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 67%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 67%
Michéle McQuigg 67%
Dave Nutter 67%
Harry Parrish 67%
Christopher Saxman 67%
William Wampler, Jr. 67%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 67%
Bob McDonnell 66%
Brian Moran 66%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 66%
Bob Purkey 66%
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 65%
VA Mayor At-Large Kenny Alexander Democratic 65%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 65%
Algie Howell, Jr. 65%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 65%
Harvey Morgan 65%
VA State Senate 26 Mark Obenshain Republican 65%
D. Nick Rerras 65%
William Reynolds 65%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 65%
Terrie Suit 65%
Robert Tata 65%
Thomas Rust 64%
VA State House 43 Mark Sickles Democratic 64%
Patricia Ticer 64%
Glenn Weatherholtz 64%
Ward Armstrong 63%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 63%
Clarke Hogan 63%
Robert Hurt 63%
VA State Senate 2 Mamie Locke Democratic 63%
Clarence Phillips 63%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 63%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 63%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 62%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 62%
Frederick Quayle 62%
Beverly Sherwood 62%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 61%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 61%
Bill Janis 61%
Harry Potts, Jr. 61%
Toddy Puller 61%
John Spence Reid 61%
Jackie Thomas Stump 61%
Mary Margaret Whipple 61%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 60%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 60%
Allen Wayne Dudley 60%
William Barlow 59%
Albert Eisenberg 59%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 59%
James Scott 59%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 59%
Mamye BaCote 58%
Robert Brink 58%
Henry Marsh III 58%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 57%
Jeffrey Frederick 57%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 57%
Gary Reese 57%
VA State House 92 Jeion Ward Democratic 57%
Robert Hull 56%
Johnny Joannou 56%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 56%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 56%
Clifford Athey, Jr. 55%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 55%
Bradley Marrs 55%
VA Supervisor At-Large Floyd Miles, Sr. 55%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 55%
VA State Senate 30 Adam Ebbin Democratic 54%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 54%
W.B. Keister 54%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 54%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 53%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 53%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 52%
Thomas Gear 52%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 52%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 51%
Mitchell Van Yahres 51%
Onzlee Ware 51%
VA State Senate 7 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 50%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones 49%
Kenneth Melvin 49%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 48%
John Welch III 48%
Marian Amelia Van Landingham 46%
Fenton Bland, Jr. 43%
Yvonne Miller 42%
Phillip Hamilton 41%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top