Rating Group: PawPAC - California’s Political Action Committee for Animals

2005 Positions on Animal Protection

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 17%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 43%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 71%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 0%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100%
CA U.S. House-45 Mimi Walters R 0%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 83%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 83%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Sheila Kuehl 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 43%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 86%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 17%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 86%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 67%
Samuel Aanestad 25%
Richard Ackerman 29%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 33%
Roy Ashburn 0%
James Battin 14%
John Benoit 17%
Patty Berg 83%
Rudy Bermúdez 83%
Sam Blakeslee 17%
Russell Bogh 0%
Debra Bowen 100%
Ron Calderon 83%
Joseph Canciamilla 83%
Edward Chavez 83%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
David Cogdill 17%
Rebecca Cohn 83%
Joe Coto 83%
Dave Cox 29%
Lynn Daucher 33%
Hector De La Torre 83%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Joe Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 25%
Mervyn Dymally 71%
Bill Emmerson 0%
Martha Escutia 86%
Noreen Evans 83%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 100%
Dario Frommer 83%
Bonnie Garcia 50%
Jackie Goldberg 86%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 17%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 83%
Shirley Horton 33%
Guy Houston 17%
Robert Huff 0%
Dave Jones 83%
Betty Karnette 83%
Richard Keene 17%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 14%
Mark Leno 86%
Robert Leslie 0%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 100%
Michael Machado 63%
Abel Maldonado 71%
Bob Margett 38%
Barbara Matthews 83%
Bill Maze 0%
Carole Migden 100%
Cindy Montañez 67%
William Phillip Morrow 43%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 17%
Eugene Mullin 83%
Kevin Murray 86%
Joseph Nation 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 67%
Roger Niello 0%
Fabian Núñez 83%
Jenny Oropeza 83%
Deborah Ortiz 86%
Nicole Parra 67%
Fran Pavley 100%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 33%
Charles Poochigian 29%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 88%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Sharon Runner 0%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 83%
Simón Salinas 83%
Jack Scott 86%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 33%
Alberto Torrico 67%
Van Tran 17%
Thomas Umberg 67%
Mike Villines 17%
Edward Vincent 100%
Lois Wolk 67%
Mark Wyland 17%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.