Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: PawPAC - California's Political Action Committee for Animals

2003 Positions on Animal Protection

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican F
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican F
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic A+
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican F
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic A
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic C
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic C
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic A-
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic A
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican F
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic A
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas A-
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan A
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl A+
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson F
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation A-
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo A
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz A+
CA Council Member 10 Herb Wesson, Jr. A
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi F
Samuel Aanestad F
Richard Ackerman F
Gregory Aghazarian F
Richard Alarcón A+
Deirdre Alpert A
Roy Ashburn F
James Battin F
John Benoit F
Patty Berg B
Rudy Bermúdez B
Russell Bogh F
Debra Bowen A+
James Brulte F
John Burton A
Ron Calderon B
John Campbell III F
Joseph Canciamilla C
Edward Chavez B
Wesley Chesbro B
David Cogdill F
Rebecca Cohn A-
Ellen Corbett B
Dave Cox F
Lynn Daucher D
Jeff Denham F
Manny Diaz A-
Denise Ducheny A-
Joe Dunn A+
John Anthony Dutra A-
Robert Dutton F
Mervyn Dymally A
Martha Escutia A+
Liz Figueroa A+
Dean Florez A-
Dario Frommer D
Bonnie Garcia F
Jackie Goldberg A-
Loni Hancock A+
Tom Harman F
Ray Haynes, Jr. F
Dennis Hollingsworth F
Jerome Horton A-
Shirley Horton F
Guy Houston F
Ross Johnson F
Betty Karnette A+
Richard Keene F
Christine Kehoe A
William Knight F
John Laird A
Jay La Suer F
Mark Leno A
Robert Leslie F
Lloyd Levine A
Sally Lieber A+
Carol Liu A
John Longville A
Michael Machado B
Ken Maddox D
Abel Maldonado D
Bob Margett F
Barbara Matthews D
Bill Maze F
Cindy Montañez A
William Phillip Morrow F
Dennis Lee Mountjoy F
Eugene Mullin A-
Kevin Murray A+
George Nakano A
Joseph Nation A
Gloria Negrete McLeod B
Fabian Núñez A
Thomas Oller F
Jenny Oropeza A-
Deborah Ortiz A+
Robert Pacheco F
Nicole Parra D
Fran Pavley A-
Don Perata A
George Plescia F
Charles Poochigian F
Sarah Reyes D
Keith Stuart Richman D
Gloria Romero A+
Sharon Runner F
Simón Salinas A-
Steve Samuelian F
Jack Scott A
Byron Sher A+
Nell Soto A
Todd Spitzer F
Tony Strickland F
Tom Torlakson A-
John Vasconcellos A+
Edward Vincent A
Patricia Wiggins B
Lois Wolk C
Mark Wyland F
Leland Yee B

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top