Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana Public Interest Research Group

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 89%
MT Lieutenant Governor Mike Cooney Democratic 100%
MT State House 32 Jonathan Windy Boy Democratic 90%
MT State House 73 Jim Keane Democratic 82%
MT State Senate 2 Dee Brown Republican 18%
MT State Senate 5 Bob Keenan Republican 18%
MT State Senate 35 Scott Sales Republican 36%
MT State Senate 42 Jill Cohenour Democratic 100%
MT State Senate 50 Tom Facey Democratic 91%
MT Secretary of State Corey Stapleton Republican 27%
MT Justice of the Supreme Court Seat 2 Mike Wheat Non-partisan 100%
MT Council Member Ward 1 Brent Cromley 100%
MT Commissioner 1 Ray Hawk 9%
Joan Andersen 18%
Keith Bales 0%
John Balyeat 36%
Gregory Barkus 18%
Debby Barrett 18%
Arlene Becker 91%
Bob Bergren 40%
Norma Bixby 100%
Jerry Black 18%
Gary Branae 82%
Roy Brown 9%
Rosalie Buzzas 100%
Terrence Callahan 100%
Paul Clark 91%
John Cobb 91%
Vicki Cocchiarella 91%
Aubyn Curtiss 18%
Sue Dickenson 100%
Tim Dowell 91%
Jon Ellingson 100%
Jim Elliott 100%
John Esp 18%
George Loren Everett 9%
Eve Franklin 100%
David Gallik 100%
Kathleen Galvin-Halcro 91%
Kelly Gebhardt 20%
George Golie 82%
Duane Grimes 27%
Gail Gutsche 100%
Kenneth Hansen 91%
Dan Harrington 80%
Christopher Kirk Harris 100%
Verdell Jackson 27%
Hal Jacobson 100%
Joey Jayne 91%
Larry Jent 90%
Carol Juneau 100%
Christine Kaufmann 100%
Sam Kitzenberg 90%
Richard Laible 9%
Bob Lake 18%
Carol Lambert 18%
Michael Lange 20%
Ralph Lenhart 73%
Monica Lindeen 82%
Rick Maedje 9%
Bruce Malcolm 18%
Jeff Mangan 73%
Gary Matthews 36%
Daniel McGee 18%
Joe McKenney 9%
Scott Mendenhall 27%
Penny Armstrong Morgan 18%
John Musgrove 100%
Mark Noennig 45%
Alan Olson 27%
Bernie Olson 18%
Jerry O'Neil 9%
John Parker 100%
Gerald Pease 82%
Gary Perry 18%
Jim Peterson 27%
Holly Raser 100%
Diane Rice 18%
Rick Ripley 9%
Donald Roberts 18%
John Ross 27%
Glenn Roush 70%
Don Ryan 82%
Trudi Schmidt 100%
John Sinrud 9%
Veronica Small-Eastman 100%
Carolyn Squires 91%
Ronald Stoker 18%
Robert Story, Jr. 9%
Bill Tash 18%
Kenneth Toole, Jr. 100%
Joseph Tropila 91%
Pat Wagman 9%
Karl Waitschies 18%
David Wanzenried 91%
Bill Wilson 91%
John Witt 9%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top