Rating Group: New Mexico Voices for Children

2003 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
NM State House-9 Patricia Lundstrom D 60%
NM State House-14 Miguel Garcia D 80%
NM State House-18 Gail Chasey D 95%
NM State House-19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton D 50%
NM State House-27 Lorenzo Larrañaga R 50%
NM State House-40 Nick Salazar D 95%
NM State House-41 Debbie Rodella D 70%
NM State House-42 Roberto Gonzales D 85%
NM State House-44 Jane Powdrell-Culbert R 55%
NM State House-45 Jim Trujillo D 100%
NM State Senate-1 William Sharer R 15%
NM State Senate-3 John Pinto D 80%
NM State Senate-5 Richard Martinez D 85%
NM State Senate-6 Carlos Cisneros D 70%
NM State Senate-8 Pete Campos D 75%
NM State Senate-11 Linda Lopez D 100%
NM State Senate-16 Cisco McSorley D 70%
NM State Senate-17 Mimi Stewart D 95%
NM State Senate-20 William Payne R 20%
NM State Senate-24 Nancy Rodriguez D 95%
NM State Senate-27 Stuart Ingle R 35%
NM State Senate-31 Joseph Cervantes D 85%
NM State Senate-35 John Smith D 70%
NM State Senate-38 Mary Papen D 65%
NM State Senate-41 Carroll Leavell R 40%
NM State Senate-42 Gay Kernan R 45%
Rod Adair 15%
Ben Altamirano 70%
Thomas Anderson 45%
Manny Aragon 85%
Janice Arnold-Jones 50%
Ray Begaye 50%
Mark Boitano 10%
William Boykin 50%
Donald Bratton 40%
Jose Campos II 85%
Joseph Carraro 25%
Max Coll 100%
Kandy Cordova 90%
Kent Cravens 20%
Anna Crook 25%
Dede Feldman 95%
Joseph Fidel 65%
Daniel Foley 20%
Mary Helen Garcia 90%
Mary Jane Garcia 80%
Ron Godbey 60%
Ramsay Gorham 30%
Phil Griego 65%
Dianne Hamilton 45%
George Hanosh 90%
Clinton Harden, Jr. 45%
Irvin Harrison 90%
John Heaton 65%
Manuel Herrera 90%
Ted Hobbs 35%
Dona Irwin 85%
Timothy Jennings 75%
Don Kidd 55%
Rhonda Sue King 85%
Steve Komadina 30%
Antonio Lujan 95%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 90%
Fred Luna 65%
James Madalena, Jr. 70%
Roman Maes III 55%
Ken Martinez 90%
Rick Miera 80%
Brian Moore 45%
Cynthia Nava 90%
Andy Nuñez 80%
Rory Ogle 30%
Al Park 85%
Danice Picraux 95%
Pauline Ponce 70%
Lidio Rainaldi 60%
Leonard Lee Rawson 20%
Bengie Regensberg 70%
Earlene Roberts 15%
Shannon Robinson 50%
Richard Romero 85%
Raymond Ruiz 95%
Henry Saavedra 85%
Bernadette Sanchez 75%
Michael Sanchez 90%
Edward Sandoval 75%
Daniel Silva 80%
Helen Diane Snyder 35%
Joe Stell, Jr. 85%
Thomas Swisstack 90%
James Taylor 75%
John Paul Taylor 95%
Thomas Taylor 50%
Joseph Thompson 50%
Sandra Townsend 45%
Don Tripp 45%
Leonard Tsosie 90%
Luciano Varela 90%
Gloria Vaughn 55%
Richard Vigil 90%
Jeannette Wallace 55%
Donald Whitaker 60%
Robert White 30%
Walter Williams 60%
Avon Wilson 45%
Sue Wilson Beffort 25%
Eric Youngberg 45%
Teresa Zanetti 55%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.