Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Friends Committee on National Legislation

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Tom Harkin 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 93%
Byron Dorgan 93%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 93%
Patrick Moynihan 93%
Robert Byrd 87%
Russ Feingold 87%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 87%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 87%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 87%
Harry Reid 87%
Max Baucus 86%
Jay Rockefeller IV 86%
Jeff Bingaman 83%
Joe Biden, Jr. 80%
Barbara Boxer 80%
Richard Bryan 80%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
Chris Dodd 80%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
Timothy Johnson 80%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 80%
Bob Kerrey 80%
John Kerry 80%
Herb Kohl 80%
Charles Robb 80%
Paul Sarbanes 80%
Robert Torricelli 80%
Barbara Mikulski 79%
Mary Landrieu 73%
Frank Lautenberg 73%
Carl Levin 73%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 71%
Arlen Specter 71%
John Breaux 67%
Daniel Graham 67%
James Merrill Jeffords 67%
Daniel Inouye 62%
Ernest Hollings 60%
Joe Lieberman 60%
John Chafee 40%
Olympia Snowe 40%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
John Warner 33%
Ben Campbell 27%
Ted Stevens 27%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 21%
William Roth, Jr. 21%
Bob Bennett 20%
Larry Craig 20%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 15%
Wayne Allard 13%
John Ashcroft 13%
Kit Bond 13%
Conrad Burns 13%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 13%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 13%
Slade Gorton 13%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 13%
Charles Hagel 13%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 13%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 13%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 13%
Don Nickles 13%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 13%
Bob Smith 13%
Craig Thomas 13%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 8%
Jesse Helms 8%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 7%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 7%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 7%
Rodney Grams 7%
Judd Gregg 7%
Dick Lugar 7%
Rick Santorum 7%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 7%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 7%
Gordon Smith 7%
Fred Thompson 7%
Strom Thurmond 7%
Paul Coverdell 0%
William Frist 0%
William Phillip Gramm 0%
Jon Kyl 0%
Trent Lott, Sr. 0%
Connie Mack 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
Frank Murkowski 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top