Rating Group: Friends Committee on National Legislation

1997 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
Barbara Boxer 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 100%
Mary Landrieu 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 93%
Russ Feingold 93%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 93%
Bob Kerrey 93%
John Kerry 93%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 93%
Carol Moseley Braun 93%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 93%
Paul Sarbanes 93%
Thomas Daschle 92%
Tom Harkin 92%
Jeff Bingaman 86%
Kent Conrad 86%
Chris Dodd 86%
Byron Dorgan 86%
John Glenn 86%
Timothy Johnson 86%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 86%
Robert Torricelli 86%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 86%
Jay Rockefeller IV 85%
Barbara Mikulski 83%
Joe Biden, Jr. 79%
Robert Byrd 79%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 79%
Carl Levin 79%
Harry Reid 79%
Daniel Inouye 77%
Richard Bryan 71%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 71%
James Merrill Jeffords 71%
Joe Lieberman 71%
Patrick Moynihan 71%
Max Baucus 64%
Wendell Ford 64%
Herb Kohl 64%
Arlen Specter 64%
John Breaux 57%
Daniel Graham 57%
Ernest Hollings 57%
Charles Robb 57%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 36%
Alfonse D'Amato 36%
Dick Lugar 36%
Olympia Snowe 36%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine R 29%
William Roth, Jr. 29%
Gordon Smith 29%
Ben Campbell 21%
William Frist 21%
Judd Gregg 21%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 21%
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 21%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 21%
Ted Stevens 21%
Fred Thompson 21%
John Warner 21%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 14%
Kit Bond 14%
KS Governor Sam Brownback R 14%
Dan Coats 14%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 14%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 14%
Slade Gorton 14%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 14%
Charles Hagel 14%
Trent Lott, Sr. 14%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 14%
Frank Murkowski 14%
Rick Santorum 14%
Conrad Burns 8%
Connie Mack 8%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 7%
Bob Bennett 7%
John Chafee 7%
Paul Coverdell 7%
Larry Craig 7%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 7%
Rodney Grams 7%
Jesse Helms 7%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 7%
Dirk Kempthorne 7%
Jon Kyl 7%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III R 7%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 7%
Craig Thomas 7%
Strom Thurmond 7%
Wayne Allard 0%
John Ashcroft 0%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 0%
William Phillip Gramm 0%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 0%
Don Nickles 0%
Bob Smith 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.