Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Michigan AFL-CIO

1999 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
MI State Senate 15 Mike Kowall Republican 10%
MI State Senate 31 Mike Green Republican 0%
MI Secretary of State Ruth Johnson Republican 0%
MI Trustee At-Large Paul Gieleghem 100%
MI Council Member Ward 3 Joanne Voorhees Republican 0%
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott 100%
MI Commissioner 5 Irma Clark-Coleman 100%
MI Commissioner 5 Ruth Ann Jamnick Democratic 100%
MI Commissioner 11 Michael Hanley 100%
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham 100%
MI Commissioner 17 Nancy Quarles Democratic 100%
Jason Allen 0%
Laura Baird 90%
Patricia Birkholz 0%
Clark Bisbee 0%
Michael Bishop 0%
Rose Bogardus 100%
Douglas Bovin 100%
Ken Bradstreet 0%
Elizabeth Brater 100%
Lingg Brewer 100%
Bob Brown 100%
Cameron Brown 0%
William Byl 0%
William Callahan 100%
Nancy Cassis 0%
Sandra Caul 10%
Deborah Cherry 100%
Hansen Clarke 100%
Kenneth Daniels 100%
Eileen DeHart 100%
Julie Dennis 100%
Gene DeRossett 0%
Larry DeVuyst 0%
Paul DeWeese 0%
Stephen Ehardt 0%
Jennifer Faunce 20%
A. T. Frank 90%
Valdemar Garcia 0%
Belda P. Garza 100%
Terry Geiger 0%
Judson Gilbert II 10%
Patricia A. K. Godchaux 0%
Robert Gosselin 0%
Lauren Hager 0%
Derrick Hale 100%
John Hansen 100%
Doug Hart 0%
Jim Howell 10%
Gilda Jacobs 100%
Mark Jansen 0%
Ron Jelinek 0%
Jon Jellema 0%
Rick Johnson 0%
Larry Julian 10%
Thomas Kelly 100%
Kwame Kilpatrick 100%
James Koetje 0%
Wayne Kuipers 0%
Janet Kukuk 0%
Edward LaForge 100%
Charles LaSata 0%
Gerald Law 11%
LaMar Lemmons, Jr. 100%
Patricia Lockwood 100%
George Mans 100%
Lynne Martinez 100%
David Mead 0%
Mary Ann Middaugh 10%
Jack Minore 100%
Mickey Mortimer 0%
Andy Neumann 100%
William O'Neil 100%
John Pappageorge 0%
Bruce Patterson 0%
Charles Perricone 0%
Steven Pestka 90%
Hubert Price, Jr. 100%
Michael Prusi 100%
Mike Pumford 0%
Ray Raczkowski 0%
Triette Reeves 100%
Randy Richardville 20%
Andrew Richner 0%
Vera Rison 100%
Joseph Rivet 100%
Sue Rocca 60%
Alan Sanborn 0%
Mark Schauer 100%
Gloria Schermesser 100%
Judith Scranton 0%
Scott Shackleton 20%
Dale Sheltrown 100%
Marc Shulman 0%
Doug Spade 90%
Keith Stallworth 100%
Tony Stamas 0%
Mickey Switalski 100%
Susan Tabor 0%
Paul Tesanovich 100%
Samuel Thomas III 100%
Artina Tinsley Hardman 100%
Laura M. Toy 10%
Jerry Vander Roest 0%
Gerald Van Woerkom 10%
Edward Vaughn 100%
Steve Vear 0%
Paul Wojno 100%
David Woodward 100%
Gary Woronchak 20%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top