Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: New Mexico Shooting Sports Association

2001 Positions on Gun Rights

State Office District Name Party Rating
NM Lieutenant Governor John Sanchez Republican A
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic B
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic F
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic F-
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic D
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican A+
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic D
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic B
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic D
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican A
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic F
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic D
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic A
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic F
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic F
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic F-
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic F
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican A
NM State Senate 24 Nancy Rodriguez Democratic F
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican A
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic B
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic A
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic A
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican A
Rod Adair A
Ben Altamirano F
Manny Aragon F
Marsha Ann Carter Atkin A
Shirley Bailey A
Ray Begaye C
Mark Boitano A
William Boykin A
Donald Bratton A
George Duval Buffett A
Robert Burpo A
Joseph Carraro A
Max Coll D
Kandy Cordova D
Kent Cravens A
Anna Crook A
Dianna Duran A
Dede Feldman F-
Joseph Fidel D
Daniel Foley A
William Fuller A
Mary Helen Garcia D
Mary Jane Garcia D
Ron Godbey A
Ramsay Gorham A
Phil Griego A+
Pauline Gubbels A
Dianne Hamilton A+
George Hanosh D
John Heaton B
Manuel Herrera B
Ted Hobbs A
Allen Hurt A
Dona Irwin A
Timothy Jennings A
Don Kidd A
Rhonda Sue King A
Steve Komadina A
Ben Lujan, Sr. D
Fred Luna A
Patrick Lyons A+
James Madalena, Jr. D
Roman Maes III F
Terry Marquardt A
Ken Martinez F-
Rick Miera F
Joseph Mohorovic A
Brian Moore A
Cynthia Nava D
Andy Nuñez A
Al Park C
Danice Picraux F
Pauline Ponce A
Lidio Rainaldi D
Leonard Lee Rawson A
Bengie Regensberg A
Benjamin Rios A
Earlene Roberts A
Shannon Robinson A+
Richard Romero F
Raymond Ruiz A
Judy Vanderstar Russell A+
Henry Saavedra C
Bernadette Sanchez D
Michael Sanchez F
Edward Sandoval D
Daniel Silva A
Helen Diane Snyder A
Joe Stell, Jr. A
James Taylor D
John Paul Taylor D
Thomas Taylor A
Joseph Thompson A
James Nicholas Tinnin, Jr. A
Sandra Townsend A
Don Tripp A
Patsy Trujillo F-
Leonard Tsosie F
Mario Urioste D
Luciano Varela D
Gloria Vaughn A
Richard Vigil D
Jeannette Wallace A
Leo Watchman, Jr. A
Donald Whitaker A
Walter Williams A
Avon Wilson A
Sue Wilson Beffort A

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top