Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia

2005 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 0%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 50%
VA Mayor At-Large Kenny Alexander Democratic 100%
Kristen Amundson 100%
Ward Armstrong 0%
Clifford Athey, Jr. 25%
Mamye BaCote 100%
William Barlow 67%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 100%
J. Brandon Bell II 0%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 33%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 0%
Harry Blevins 0%
Bill Bolling 0%
Robert Brink 100%
L. Bryant, Jr. 0%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 0%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 0%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 0%
John Chichester 0%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 0%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 0%
Charles Colgan, Sr. 0%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 33%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 0%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 0%
Ken Cuccinelli II 0%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 100%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 0%
VA State Board of Education James Dillard II 100%
Allen Wayne Dudley 0%
VA State Senate 30 Adam Ebbin Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 100%
Albert Eisenberg 100%
William Fralin, Jr. 33%
Jeffrey Frederick 25%
Thomas Gear 0%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 0%
Franklin Hall 100%
Phillip Hamilton 33%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 0%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 0%
Charles Hawkins 0%
Clarke Hogan 33%
Edd Houck 100%
Algie Howell, Jr. 33%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 100%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 0%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 50%
Robert Hull 100%
Robert Hurt 0%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 33%
Bill Janis 0%
Johnny Joannou 100%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 25%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones 100%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 33%
W.B. Keister 75%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 0%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 100%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 50%
VA State Senate 6 Lynwood Lewis, Jr. Democratic 100%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 0%
VA State Senate 2 Mamie Locke Democratic 100%
Allen Louderback 0%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 100%
Bradley Marrs 25%
Henry Marsh III 100%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 0%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 0%
Stephen Martin 0%
Joe May 0%
Bob McDonnell 0%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 0%
Michéle McQuigg 0%
Kenneth Melvin 100%
VA Supervisor At-Large Floyd Miles, Sr. 100%
Paula Miller 100%
Yvonne Miller 100%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 0%
Brian Moran 100%
Harvey Morgan 67%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 0%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 0%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 50%
Dave Nutter 0%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 33%
VA State Senate 26 Mark Obenshain Republican 0%
James O'Brien, Jr. 0%
Glenn Oder 0%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 33%
Harry Parrish 0%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 100%
Clarence Phillips 33%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 100%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 50%
Harry Potts, Jr. 100%
Phillip Puckett 100%
Toddy Puller 100%
Bob Purkey 25%
Lacey Putney 33%
Frederick Quayle 100%
Melanie Rapp 0%
Gary Reese 0%
John Spence Reid 0%
D. Nick Rerras 0%
William Reynolds 100%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 0%
Thomas Rust 50%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 100%
Christopher Saxman 0%
Edward Scott 0%
James Scott 100%
Stephen Shannon 100%
Beverly Sherwood 0%
James Shuler 100%
VA State House 43 Mark Sickles Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 7 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 100%
Kenneth Stolle 0%
Walter Stosch 0%
Jackie Thomas Stump 0%
Terrie Suit 33%
Robert Tata 0%
Patricia Ticer 100%
Mitchell Van Yahres 100%
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 0%
William Wampler, Jr. 0%
VA State House 92 Jeion Ward Democratic 100%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 0%
Onzlee Ware 100%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 0%
John Watkins 0%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 100%
Glenn Weatherholtz 0%
John Welch III 0%
Mary Margaret Whipple 100%
Martin Williams 0%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top