Rating Group: Iowa Sierra Club

2009-2010 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office Name Party Rating
IA Governor Kim Reynolds R 46%
IA State House-3 Daniel Huseman R 60%
IA State House-9 Helen Miller D 100%
IA State House-11 Gary Worthan R 60%
IA State House-17 Matt Windschitl R 60%
IA State House-19 Ralph Watts R 40%
IA State House-20 Clel Baudler R 60%
IA State House-24 Cecil Dolecheck R 60%
IA State House-31 Rick Olson D 100%
IA State House-34 Bruce Hunter D 70%
IA State House-35 Ako Abdul-Samad D 90%
IA State House-38 Kevin Koester R 70%
IA State House-41 Jo Oldson D 90%
IA State House-42 Peter Cownie R 70%
IA State House-43 Chris Hagenow R 70%
IA State House-45 Beth Wessel-Kroeschell D 70%
IA State House-46 Lisa Heddens D 70%
IA State House-49 Dave Deyoe R 60%
IA State House-50 Patrick Grassley R 70%
IA State House-53 Sharon Steckman D 100%
IA State House-54 Linda Upmeyer R 60%
IA State House-59 Bob Kressig D 90%
IA State House-69 Kirsten Running-Marquardt D 83%
IA State House-70 Todd Taylor D 80%
IA State House-71 Mark Smith D 100%
IA State House-74 Dave Jacoby D 90%
IA State House-75 Dawn Pettengill R 63%
IA State House-81 Mary Gaskill D 100%
IA State House-83 Jerry Kearns D 100%
IA State House-84 David Heaton R 70%
IA State House-85 Vicki Lensing D 60%
IA State House-86 Mary Mascher D 80%
IA State House-87 Dennis Cohoon D 100%
IA State House-90 Cindy Winckler D 80%
IA State House-93 Phyllis Thede D 100%
IA State House-100 Charles Isenhart D 100%
IA State Senate-1 David Johnson I 36%
IA State Senate-2 Randy Feenstra R 31%
IA State Senate-9 Jason Schultz R 44%
IA State Senate-18 Janet Petersen D 80%
IA State Senate-20 Brad Zaun R 42%
IA State Senate-21 Matthew McCoy D 83%
IA State Senate-23 Herman Quirmbach D 77%
IA State Senate-24 Jerry Behn R 31%
IA State Senate-27 Amanda Ragan D 100%
IA State Senate-30 Jeff Danielson D 100%
IA State Senate-31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. D 92%
IA State Senate-33 Robert Hogg D 92%
IA State Senate-35 Wally Horn D 100%
IA State Senate-37 Robert Dvorsky D 92%
IA State Senate-38 Tim Kapucian R 54%
IA State Senate-43 Joe Bolkcom D 83%
IA State Senate-45 Jim Lykam D 100%
IA State Senate-50 Pam Jochum D 77%
IA Supervisor-1 John Beard 100%
IA Supervisor-At-Large Merlin Bartz 62%
IA Supervisor-At-Large Shawn Hamerlinck R 31%
IA Supervisor-At-Large Mark Kuhn D 90%
IA Supervisor-At-Large Becky Schmitz D 100%
IA State Board of Education Mike May R 60%
Dwayne Alons 50%
Richard Anderson 80%
Staci Appel 85%
Rich Arnold 56%
McKinley Bailey 100%
Daryl Beall 92%
Paul Bell 100%
Deborah Berry 100%
Dennis Black 92%
Nancy Boettger 38%
Polly Bukta 100%
Kerry Burt 100%
Royd Chambers 33%
Thomas Courtney 85%
Swati Dandekar 91%
Dick Dearden 92%
Betty De Boef 44%
Jack Drake 80%
Gene Ficken 100%
Wayne Ford 80%
Greg Forristall 40%
Eugene Fraise 91%
Marcella Frevert 100%
Elesha Gayman 100%
Michael Gronstal 100%
Jim Hahn 38%
Tom Hancock 77%
Curt Hanson 100%
David Hartsuch 31%
Jack Hatch 82%
Bill Heckroth 100%
Erik Helland 60%
Lance Horbach 63%
Hubert Houser 42%
Geri Huser 100%
Jeff Kaufmann 80%
Doris Kelley 78%
Steve Kettering 31%
John Kibbie 100%
Keith Kreiman 85%
Steven Lukan 60%
Larry Marek 100%
Kevin McCarthy 89%
Paul McKinley 42%
Dolores Mertz 100%
Linda Miller 70%
Pat Murphy 100%
Larry Noble 46%
Rich Olive 100%
Donovan Olson 90%
Steven Olson 70%
Tyler Olson 100%
Eric Palmer 100%
Kraig Paulsen 60%
Brian Quirk 100%
Scott Raecker 86%
Christopher Rants 56%
Henry Rayhons 56%
Michael Reasoner 100%
Nathan Reichert 100%
Thomas Rielly 85%
Rod Roberts 70%
Tom Sands 56%
Brian Schoenjahn 92%
Thomas Schueller 90%
Renee Schulte 67%
Joe Seng 92%
James Seymour 38%
Paul Shomshor, Jr. 100%
Steve Sodders 92%
Chuck Soderberg 70%
Kent Sorenson 60%
Roger Stewart 100%
Doug Struyk 70%
Kurt Swaim 100%
Annette Sweeney 60%
Roger Thomas 90%
Dave Tjepkes 80%
Jodi Tymeson 60%
James Van Engelenhoven 60%
Nick Wagner 60%
Pat Ward 50%
Steven Warnstadt 100%
Roger Wendt 100%
Andrew Wenthe 100%
Wesley Whitead 100%
Ron Wieck 33%
Mary Jo Wilhelm 85%
Nate Willems 80%
Ray Zirkelbach 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.