Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Public Interest Research Group

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 5%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 15%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 5%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 11%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 89%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 74%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 16%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 84%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 21%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 21%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 89%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 23%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 11%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 92%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 84%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 95%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 11%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 68%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 15%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 16%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 8%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 16%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 95%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 84%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 74%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 89%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 54%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 79%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 89%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 53%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 21%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 11%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 5%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 68%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 16%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 74%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 95%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 89%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 84%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 21%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 82%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 84%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 84%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 89%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 37%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 37%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 74%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 23%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 15%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 16%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 85%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 42%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 92%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 16%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 84%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 26%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 16%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 68%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 68%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 89%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 68%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 77%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 92%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 89%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 95%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 42%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 15%
Neil Abercrombie 79%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 38%
Gary Ackerman 95%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 77%
Wayne Allard 15%
Thomas Allen 95%
Rob Andrews 89%
Bill Archer 11%
Richard Armey 16%
John Ashcroft 15%
Spencer Bachus 21%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Richard Hugh Baker 11%
Cass Ballenger 5%
James Barcia 53%
Bob Barr, Jr. 11%
Bill Barrett 16%
Roscoe Bartlett 16%
Joe Barton 5%
Charlie Bass 58%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 5%
Max Baucus 77%
Bob Bennett 15%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 68%
Douglas Bereuter 21%
Howard Berman 84%
Marion Berry 26%
Joe Biden, Jr. 77%
Brian Bilbray 68%
Michael Bilirakis 42%
Jeff Bingaman 85%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 63%
John Boehner 5%
Kit Bond 15%
Henry Bonilla 11%
David Edward Bonior 84%
Mary Bono Mack 20%
Robert Borski, Jr. 79%
Leonard Boswell 42%
Rick Boucher 53%
Barbara Boxer 92%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 26%
Bob Brady 50%
John Breaux 54%
Corrine Brown 84%
Sam Brownback 15%
Richard Bryan 92%
Ed Bryant 11%
Jim Bunning 11%
Conrad Burns 15%
Dan Burton 5%
Steve Buyer 5%
Robert Byrd 62%
Herbert Callahan 11%
Dave Camp 21%
Ben Campbell 23%
Thomas Campbell 58%
Chris Cannon 16%
Lois Capps 91%
Julia Carson 89%
Mike Castle 79%
John Chafee 62%
Saxby Chambliss 5%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 11%
William Clay, Sr. 74%
Eva Clayton 84%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 77%
Robert Clement 58%
Howard Coble 21%
Thomas Coburn 5%
Thad Cochran 23%
Michael Collins 11%
Larry Combest 11%
Gary Condit 47%
Kent Conrad 62%
John Conyers, Jr. 84%
Merrill Cook 37%
John Cooksey 16%
Jerry Costello 79%
Paul Coverdell 15%
Christopher Cox 32%
William Coyne 89%
Larry Craig 15%
Robert Cramer 21%
Philip Crane 5%
Barbara Cubin 5%
Randall Cunningham 11%
Patsy Ann Danner 21%
Thomas Daschle 77%
James Davis 74%
Thomas Davis III 47%
Nathan Deal 21%
Bill Delahunt 95%
Thomas DeLay 11%
Peter Deutsch 74%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 26%
Jay Dickey 11%
Norm Dicks 74%
John Dingell 63%
Julian Dixon 84%
Chris Dodd 92%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 15%
Calvin Dooley 26%
John Doolittle 5%
Byron Dorgan 62%
David Dreier 11%
John Duncan, Jr. 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top