Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 80%
OR U.S. House 5 Kurt Schrader Democratic 57%
OR Governor Kate Brown Democratic 43%
OR State House 6 Sal Esquivel Republican 0%
OR State House 8 Paul Holvey Democratic 80%
OR State House 11 Phil Barnhart Democratic 67%
OR State House 15 Andy Olson Republican 0%
OR State House 28 Jeff Barker Democratic 11%
OR State House 31 Bradley Witt Democratic 30%
OR State House 32 Deborah Boone Democratic 10%
OR State House 33 Mitch Greenlick Democratic 80%
OR State House 53 Gene Whisnant Republican 0%
OR State House 57 Greg Smith Republican 0%
OR State Senate 1 Jeff Kruse Republican 14%
OR State Senate 4 Floyd Prozanski, Jr. Democratic 57%
OR State Senate 5 Arnie Roblan Democratic 0%
OR State Senate 10 Jackie Winters Republican 20%
OR State Senate 11 Peter Courtney Democratic 43%
OR State Senate 12 Brian Boquist Republican 0%
OR State Senate 13 Kim Thatcher Republican 0%
OR State Senate 14 Mark Hass Democratic 20%
OR State Senate 15 Chuck Riley Democratic 30%
OR State Senate 16 Betsy Johnson Democratic 43%
OR State Senate 18 Ginny Burdick Democratic 71%
OR State Senate 19 Richard Devlin Democratic 43%
OR State Senate 25 Laurie Monnes Anderson Democratic 57%
OR State Senate 30 Ted Ferrioli Republican 14%
OR Secretary of State Dennis Richardson Republican 0%
OR Commissioner At-Large Kevin Cameron 0%
OR Commissioner At-Large Susan Morgan Republican 0%
Robert Ackerman 70%
Gordon Anderson 10%
Jason Atkinson 29%
Brad Avakian 30%
Alan Bates 67%
Vicki Berger 0%
Elizabeth Beyer 11%
Roger Beyer 14%
Alan Brown 0%
Scott Bruun 0%
Peter Buckley 80%
Chuck Burley 0%
R. Thomas Butler 0%
Margaret Carter 57%
John Dallum 0%
Billy Dalto 0%
Ryan Deckert 57%
Jackie Dingfelder 100%
Debi Farr 0%
Linda Flores 0%
Larry Galizio 60%
William Garrard 0%
Gary George 50%
George Gilman 0%
Avel Louise Gordly 71%
Bruce Hanna 0%
Gary Hansen 100%
Dave Hunt 30%
Bob Jenson 10%
Derrick Kitts 0%
Betty Komp 0%
Wayne Krieger 0%
Jeffrey Kropf 0%
Jerry Krummel 0%
John Lim 0%
Greg Macpherson 40%
Steve March 90%
Rick Metsger 71%
Karen Minnis 0%
William Morrisette 71%
Frank Morse 43%
David Nelson 17%
Donna Nelson 30%
Mary Nolan 100%
Charlie Ringo 71%
Diane Rosenbaum 100%
Michael Schaufler 10%
Wayne Scott 0%
Frank Shields 86%
William Shields 90%
Patti Smith 10%
Bruce Starr 14%
Charles Starr 14%
Mac Sumner 0%
Carolyn Tomei 67%
Joanne Verger 43%
Vicki Walker 86%
Bernard Westlund II 57%
Doug Whitsett 17%
Kelley Wirth 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top