Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon

2011 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Jason Atkinson 100%
Mary Nolan 100%
Jules Bailey 75%
OR State House 44 Tina Kotek Democratic 75%
Katie Brewer 67%
OR State House 11 Phil Barnhart Democratic 50%
Alan Bates 50%
Elizabeth Beyer 50%
OR State Senate 6 Lee Beyer Democratic 50%
OR U.S. House 1 Suzanne Bonamici Democratic 50%
OR State House 32 Deborah Boone Democratic 50%
OR State Senate 12 Brian Boquist Republican 50%
Peter Buckley 50%
OR State Senate 18 Ginny Burdick Democratic 50%
Ben Cannon 50%
OR State Senate 11 Peter Courtney Democratic 50%
OR State Senate 23 Michael Dembrow Democratic 50%
Richard Devlin 50%
Jackie Dingfelder 50%
OR State House 35 Margaret Doherty Democratic 50%
Chris Edwards 50%
OR State Senate 30 Ted Ferrioli Republican 50%
OR State Senate 22 Lew Frederick Democratic, Working Families 50%
Tim Freeman 50%
Chris Garrett 50%
OR State Senate 8 Sara Gelser Democratic 50%
Larry George 50%
OR State Senate 9 Fred Girod Republican 50%
OR State House 33 Mitch Greenlick Democratic 50%
Chris Harker 50%
OR State Senate 14 Mark Hass Democratic 50%
OR State House 8 Paul Holvey Democratic 50%
Val Hoyle 50%
OR State Senate 16 Betsy Johnson Democratic 50%
OR State Senate 1 Jeff Kruse Republican 50%
Shawn Lindsay 50%
OR State Senate 25 Laurie Monnes Anderson Democratic 50%
OR State Senate 24 Rod Monroe Democratic 50%
Frank Morse 50%
OR State House 13 Nancy Nathanson Democratic 50%
David Nelson 50%
OR State Senate 20 Alan Olsen Republican 50%
OR State Senate 4 Floyd Prozanski, Jr. Democratic 50%
Diane Rosenbaum 50%
William Shields 50%
Jefferson Smith 50%
OR State House 17 Sherrie Sprenger Republican 50%
Bruce Starr 50%
Chris Telfer 50%
OR State Senate 26 Charles Thomsen Republican 50%
Carolyn Tomei 50%
Doug Whitsett 50%
OR State Senate 10 Jackie Winters Republican 50%
Wally Hicks 33%
OR Secretary of State Dennis Richardson Republican 33%
Jim Thompson 33%
OR State House 28 Jeff Barker Democratic 25%
OR State Senate 30 Cliff Bentz Republican 25%
Vicki Berger 25%
OR Commissioner At-Large Kevin Cameron 25%
OR State House 21 Brian Clem Democratic 25%
Jason Conger 25%
Jean Cowan 25%
OR State House 6 Sal Esquivel Republican 25%
William Garrard 25%
Vic Gilliam 25%
Bruce Hanna 25%
John Huffman 25%
Dave Hunt 25%
Bob Jenson 25%
Mark Johnson 25%
OR State House 39 Bill Kennemer Republican 25%
Betty Komp 25%
Wayne Krieger 25%
Greg Matthews 25%
OR State House 55 Mike McLane Republican 25%
OR State House 15 Andy Olson Republican 25%
OR State House 37 Julie Parrish Republican 25%
OR Treasurer Tobias Read Democratic 25%
OR State Senate 5 Arnie Roblan Democratic 25%
Michael Schaufler 25%
Patrick Sheehan 25%
OR State House 57 Greg Smith Republican 25%
OR State Senate 13 Kim Thatcher Republican 25%
Matt Wand 25%
Jim Weidner 25%
OR State House 53 Gene Whisnant Republican 25%
Matthew Wingard 25%
OR State House 31 Brad Witt Democratic 25%
Joanne Verger 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top