Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon

2008 Positions on Civil Rights Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
Jason Atkinson 0
Brad Avakian 50
OR State House 28 Jeff Barker Democratic 0
OR State House 11 Phil Barnhart Democratic 100
Alan Bates 50
OR State House 60 Cliff Bentz Republican 0
Vicki Berger 0
Elizabeth Beyer 0
OR U.S. House 1 Suzanne Bonamici Democratic 100
OR State House 32 Deborah Boone Democratic 0
OR State Senate 12 Brian Boquist Republican 0
OR Governor Kate Brown Democratic 50
Scott Bruun 0
Peter Buckley 50
OR State Senate 18 Ginny Burdick Democratic 100
Chuck Burley 50
OR Commissioner At-Large Kevin Cameron 0
Ben Cannon 100
Margaret Carter 50
OR State House 21 Brian Clem Democratic 0
OR State Senate 11 Peter Courtney Democratic 0
Jean Cowan 0
OR State Senate 19 Richard Devlin Democratic 0
Jackie Dingfelder 50
Chris Edwards 0
David Edwards 50
OR State House 6 Sal Esquivel Republican 0
OR State Senate 30 Ted Ferrioli Republican 0
Linda Flores 0
Larry Galizio 0
William Garrard 50
OR State Senate 8 Sara Gelser Democratic 100
Gary George 50
Larry George 0
Vic Gilliam 0
George Gilman 50
OR State Senate 9 Fred Girod Republican 0
Avel Louise Gordly 50
OR State House 33 Mitch Greenlick Democratic 50
Bruce Hanna 0
OR State Senate 14 Mark Hass Democratic 0
OR State House 8 Paul Holvey Democratic 50
OR State House 59 John Huffman Republican 0
Dave Hunt 0
Bob Jenson 50
OR State Senate 16 Betsy Johnson Democratic 0
Betty Komp 0
OR State House 44 Tina Kotek Democratic 100
Wayne Krieger 0
Jerry Krummel 0
OR State Senate 1 Jeff Kruse Republican 50
John Lim 0
Greg Macpherson 50
Ron Maurer 0
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 0
Rick Metsger 50
Karen Minnis 0
OR State Senate 25 Laurie Monnes Anderson Democratic 0
OR State Senate 24 Rod Monroe Democratic 50
OR Commissioner At-Large Susan Morgan Republican 0
William Morrisette 0
Frank Morse 0
OR State House 13 Nancy Nathanson Democratic 50
David Nelson 0
Donna Nelson 0
Mary Nolan 100
OR State House 15 Andy Olson Republican 0
OR State Senate 4 Floyd Prozanski, Jr. Democratic 0
Tobias Read 0
OR Secretary of State Dennis Richardson Republican 50
OR State Senate 15 Chuck Riley Democratic 0
OR State Senate 5 Arnie Roblan Democratic 0
Diane Rosenbaum 50
Michael Schaufler 0
OR U.S. House 5 Kurt Schrader Democratic 0
Wayne Scott 0
William Shields 100
OR State House 57 Greg Smith Republican 0
Patti Smith 50
OR State House 17 Sherrie Sprenger Republican 0
Bruce Starr 0
OR State Senate 13 Kim Thatcher Republican 0
Carolyn Tomei 100
Joanne Verger 0
Vicki Walker 50
Bernard Westlund II 0
OR State House 53 Gene Whisnant Republican 0
Doug Whitsett 50
OR State Senate 10 Jackie Winters Republican 0
OR State House 31 Bradley Witt Democratic 0

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top