Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Race Forward

2009 Leadership Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 50%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 9 Nancy Skinner Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 12 Anna Caballero Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 35 Steven Bradford Democratic 50%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 50%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 50%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 5%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 50%
CA Supervisor 4 Curt Hagman 50%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 50%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 50%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 50%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield 50%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 50%
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 5%
CA Treasurer Fiona Ma Democratic 50%
Samuel Aanestad 50%
Anthony Adams 50%
Elaine Alquist 50%
Tom Ammiano 75%
Joel Anderson 50%
Juan Arambula 50%
Roy Ashburn 50%
John Benoit 50%
Bill Berryhill 50%
Tom Berryhill 50%
Sam Blakeslee 50%
Martin Block 50%
Joan Buchanan 50%
Charles Calderon 50%
Ron Calderon 50%
Amina Carter 50%
Wesley Chesbro 50%
David Cogdill 50%
Connie Conway 50%
Ellen Corbett 75%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 50%
Mike Davis 50%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Kevin de Leon 100%
Jeff Denham 50%
Charles DeVore 50%
Denise Ducheny 50%
Robert Dutton 50%
Michael Duvall 50%
Bill Emmerson 50%
Mike Eng 75%
Noreen Evans 50%
Mike Feuer 50%
Nathan Fletcher 50%
Dean Florez 50%
Paul Fong 100%
Felipe Fuentes 50%
Jean Fuller 50%
Warren Furutani 50%
Ted Gaines 50%
Martin Garrick 50%
Danny Gilmore 50%
Isadore Hall III 50%
Loni Hancock 50%
Diane Harkey 50%
Tom Harman 50%
Mary Hayashi 50%
Ed Hernandez 75%
Dennis Hollingsworth 50%
Alyson Huber 50%
Robert Huff 50%
Dave Jones 50%
Christine Kehoe 50%
Steve Knight 50%
Mark Leno 50%
Carol Liu 50%
Dan Logue 50%
Bonnie Lowenthal 50%
Abel Maldonado 50%
Tony Mendoza 75%
Jeff Miller 50%
Pedro Nava 75%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 50%
Brian Nestande 50%
Roger Niello 50%
Jenny Oropeza 50%
Fran Pavley 50%
John Pérez 50%
Manuel Pérez 75%
Gloria Romero 50%
George Runner, Jr. 50%
Ira Ruskin 50%
Lori Saldaña 50%
Jim Silva 50%
Cameron Smyth 50%
Tony Strickland 50%
Audra Strickland 50%
Sandré Swanson 5%
Tom Torlakson 0%
Alberto Torrico 50%
Van Tran 50%
Mike Villines 50%
Mimi Walters 50%
Patricia Wiggins 50%
Lois Wolk 50%
Roderick Wright 0%
Mark Wyland 50%
Mariko Yamada 50%
Leland Yee 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top