Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Race Forward

2005 Positions on Racial Justice

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 19%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 89%
CA State Senate 34 Thomas Umberg Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 97%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 36%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 94%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 94%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 25%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 100%
Samuel Aanestad 8%
Richard Ackerman 11%
Gregory Aghazarian 28%
Richard Alarcón 97%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 86%
Roy Ashburn 11%
James Battin 14%
John Benoit 25%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 39%
Russell Bogh 28%
Debra Bowen 94%
Ron Calderon 100%
John Campbell III 8%
Joseph Canciamilla 72%
Edward Chavez 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
David Cogdill 25%
Rebecca Cohn 94%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 17%
Lynn Daucher 31%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Jeff Denham 36%
Charles DeVore 22%
Denise Ducheny 94%
Joe Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 12%
Mervyn Dymally 97%
Bill Emmerson 22%
Martha Escutia 94%
Noreen Evans 100%
Liz Figueroa 94%
Dean Florez 89%
Dario Frommer 97%
Bonnie Garcia 58%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 25%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 11%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 94%
Shirley Horton 58%
Guy Houston 25%
Robert Huff 28%
Dave Jones 97%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 31%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 22%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 19%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 100%
Michael Machado 72%
Abel Maldonado 56%
Bob Margett 24%
Barbara Matthews 83%
Bill Maze 14%
Carole Migden 97%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 11%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 11%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 57%
Joseph Nation 94%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 94%
Roger Niello 25%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 89%
Deborah Ortiz 92%
Nicole Parra 83%
Fran Pavley 100%
Don Perata 94%
George Plescia 25%
Charles Poochigian 17%
Keith Stuart Richman 44%
Gloria Romero 97%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Sharon Runner 25%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 17%
Tom Torlakson 92%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 39%
Mike Villines 19%
Edward Vincent 88%
Mimi Walters 14%
Lois Wolk 94%
Mark Wyland 25%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top