Rating Group: South Carolina Education Association

2005 Positions

Issues: Education
State Office Name Party Rating
SC U.S. House-3 Jeff Duncan R 18%
SC U.S. House-5 Ralph Norman, Jr. R 17%
SC Lieutenant Governor Kevin Bryant R 30%
SC State House-1 William Whitmire R 37%
SC State House-2 William Sandifer III R 28%
SC State House-4 Davey Hiott R 24%
SC State House-6 Brian White R 30%
SC State House-12 Anne Parks D 97%
SC State House-14 Michael Pitts R 31%
SC State House-19 Dwight Loftis R 15%
SC State House-27 Garry Smith R 21%
SC State House-42 Mike Anthony D 93%
SC State House-43 Greg Delleney, Jr. R 18%
SC State House-46 Gary Simrill R 17%
SC State House-51 J. David Weeks D 93%
SC State House-52 Laurie Funderburk D 93%
SC State House-55 Jackie Hayes D 80%
SC State House-65 James Lucas R 20%
SC State House-66 Gilda Cobb-Hunter D 96%
SC State House-67 Murrell Smith, Jr. R 31%
SC State House-71 Nathan Ballentine R 21%
SC State House-72 James Smith, Jr. D 90%
SC State House-74 Todd Rutherford D 94%
SC State House-76 Leon Howard D 90%
SC State House-80 Jimmy Bales D 75%
SC State House-82 William Clyburn, Sr. D 100%
SC State House-85 Chip Huggins R 14%
SC State House-88 McLain Toole R 13%
SC State House-91 Lonnie Hosey D 100%
SC State House-95 Jerry Govan, Jr. D 100%
SC State House-102 Joseph Jefferson, Jr. D 100%
SC State House-103 Carl Anderson D 97%
SC State House-107 Alan Clemmons R 17%
SC State House-109 David Mack III D 93%
SC State House-113 Seth Whipper D 100%
SC State House-116 Robert Brown D 96%
SC State House-118 Bill Herbkersman R 18%
SC State House-122 Bill Bowers D 81%
SC State Senate-1 Thomas Alexander R 90%
SC State Senate-2 Rex Rice R 20%
SC State Senate-7 Karl Allen D 92%
SC State Senate-9 Danny Verdin III R 70%
SC State Senate-11 Glenn Reese D 100%
SC State Senate-12 Scott Talley R 13%
SC State Senate-14 Harvey Peeler, Jr. R 63%
SC State Senate-16 Greg Gregory R 30%
SC State Senate-18 Ronnie Cromer R 90%
SC State Senate-19 John Scott, Jr. D 96%
SC State Senate-20 John Courson R 89%
SC State Senate-21 Darrell Jackson D 100%
SC State Senate-26 Nikki Setzler D 100%
SC State Senate-27 Vincent Sheheen D 80%
SC State Senate-29 Gerald Malloy D 100%
SC State Senate-30 Kent Williams D 100%
SC State Senate-31 Hugh Leatherman, Sr. R 88%
SC State Senate-33 Luke Rankin, Sr. R 90%
SC State Senate-37 Larry Grooms R 70%
SC State Senate-39 John Matthews, Jr. D 100%
SC State Senate-40 Brad Hutto D 100%
SC State Senate-43 Chip Campsen III R 50%
SC Council Member-3 George Bailey R 26%
SC Treasurer Converse Chellis III 24%
Paul Agnew 93%
John Graham Altman III 20%
Ralph Anderson 100%
Liston Barfield 24%
James Battle, Jr. 70%
Kenneth Bingham 13%
Joan Brady 31%
Lester Branham, Jr. 100%
Floyd Breeland 97%
Grady Brown 96%
Joe Brown 96%
Harry Cato 22%
Catherine Ceips 15%
Richard Chalk, Jr. 25%
Ken Clark 29%
Ray Cleary III 57%
Marty Coates 30%
Creighton Coleman 69%
Daniel Cooper 33%
William Cotty 38%
Thomas Dantzler 31%
Guy Davenport, Jr. 18%
John Drummond 100%
Tracy Edge 11%
Dick Elliott 100%
Eldridge Emory 93%
Michael Fair 40%
Robert Ford 100%
Marion Frye 28%
Ben Hagood, Jr. 17%
Nikki Haley 24%
Glenn Hamilton 33%
Nelson Hardwick 25%
Robert Harrell, Jr. 23%
James Harrison 26%
Charles Alexander Harvin III 100%
Gloria Haskins 23%
John Hawkins 30%
Wes Hayes, Jr. 90%
Jesse Edison Hines 100%
Mack Hines, Jr. 100%
Shirley Hinson 21%
Douglas Jennings, Jr. 95%
Kenneth Kennedy 100%
Herbert Kirsh 52%
Jake Knotts, Jr. 90%
John Land III 100%
Robert Leach, Sr. 17%
Brenda Lee 93%
Phil Leventis 100%
Chip Limehouse III 21%
Lanny Littlejohn 32%
Joel Lourie 100%
Joseph Mahaffey, Sr. 23%
Becky Martin 43%
Larry Martin 80%
Glenn McConnell 80%
E. DeWitt McCraw 58%
James McGee III 23%
John McGill 100%
Walton McLeod III 96%
James Merrill 20%
William Mescher 63%
Vida Miller 93%
Bessie Moody-Lawrence 100%
Tommy Moore 100%
James Neal 96%
Joseph Neal 96%
Denny Neilson 68%
William O'Dell 89%
Harry Ott, Jr. 93%
Phillip Owens 17%
Kay Patterson 100%
Robert Perry, Jr. 32%
Olin Phillips 85%
Clementa Pinckney 100%
Lewis Pinson 36%
Edward Pitts, Jr. 14%
Thomas Rhoad 83%
Scott Richardson 40%
James Ritchie, Jr. 56%
R. Thayer Rivers, Jr. 100%
Greg Ryberg 33%
Wallace Scarborough 17%
Randy Scott 80%
Linda Short 90%
Phillip Sinclair 33%
B. R. Skelton 23%
Donald Smith 28%
Fletcher Smith, Jr. 77%
Roland Smith 23%
Jefferson Verne Smith 100%
William Smith 17%
James Stewart, Jr. 14%
Adam Taylor, Sr. 28%
David Thomas 56%
Michael Thompson 30%
Ronald Parker Townsend 34%
Daniel Tripp 33%
C. David Umphlett, Jr. 24%
Lewis Raymond Vaughn 17%
Ted Vick 76%
Thad Viers 23%
Robert Walker 30%
William Witherspoon 21%
Annette Young 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.