Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Prosperity

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 0%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 58%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 57%
Rodney Alexander 0%
Wayne Allard 29%
George Allen 86%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 16%
Joe Baca, Sr. 0%
Spencer Bachus 0%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 29%
Brian Baird 0%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
J. Gresham Barrett 100%
John Barrow 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 42%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 16%
Charlie Bass 95%
Max Baucus 0%
Evan Bayh 57%
Melissa Bean 100%
Bob Beauprez 84%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 0%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 0%
Joe Biden, Jr. 33%
Judy Biggert 32%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Michael Bilirakis 53%
Jeff Bingaman 57%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 42%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 0%
Tim Bishop 0%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 26%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 0%
John Boehner 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 0%
GU U.S. House Delegate Madeleine Bordallo Democratic 0%
Dan Boren 0%
Leonard Boswell 0%
Rick Boucher 0%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 0%
Barbara Boxer 29%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 0%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 0%
Corrine Brown 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
Sam Brownback 57%
Ginny Brown-Waite 42%
Jim Bunning 71%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 29%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 100%
Dan Burton 26%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 0%
Steve Buyer 16%
Robert Byrd 14%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
Dave Camp 0%
John Campbell III 21%
Chris Cannon 56%
Eric Cantor 17%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 29%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 0%
Lois Capps 0%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 0%
Russ Carnahan 0%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 57%
Julia Carson 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 0%
Mike Castle 32%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 95%
Lincoln Chafee 71%
Saxby Chambliss 29%
Ben Chandler III 0%
Chris Chocola 100%
Donna Christensen 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 0%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 0%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
Howard Coble 47%
Thomas Coburn 100%
Thad Cochran 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 11%
Kent Conrad 57%
John Conyers, Jr. 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 100%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 57%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 0%
Jerry Costello 0%
Larry Craig 57%
Robert Cramer 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 43%
Ander Crenshaw 0%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 0%
Barbara Cubin 32%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Artur Davis 0%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
Geoff Davis 26%
James Davis 0%
Jo Ann Davis 16%
Lincoln Davis 6%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 0%
Thomas Davis III 16%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 5%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 100%
Charlie Dent 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 71%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 0%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Norm Dicks 0%
John Dingell 0%
Chris Dodd 29%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 16%
Elizabeth Dole 29%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 29%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 0%
Thelma Drake 0%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 74%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 29%
Chet Edwards 0%
Vern Ehlers 47%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 0%
John Ensign 86%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 71%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 11%
Bob Etheridge 0%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 42%
Eni Faleomavaega 0%
Sam Farr 0%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 0%
Tom Feeney 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 14%
Michael Ferguson 16%
Bob Filner 0%
Mike Fitzpatrick 5%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Mark Foley 5%
Randy Forbes 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 81%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 0%
Luis Fortuño 0%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 58%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 5%
Barney Frank 26%
Trent Franks 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 0%
William Frist 57%
Elton Gallegly 0%
Scott Garrett 100%
Jim Gerlach 7%
Jim Gibbons 100%
Wayne Gilchrest 0%
Paul Gillmor 16%
Phil Gingrey 44%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 32%
Charlie Gonzalez 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top