Rating Group: Federation for American Immigration Reform

2005-2006 Positions

Issues: Immigration
State Office Name Party Rating
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 28%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 76%
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 15%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 57%
DE U.S. Senate-Sr Tom Carper D 43%
FL U.S. Senate-Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. D 57%
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Johnny Isakson R 93%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 93%
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 86%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 36%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 100%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 57%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 36%
MI U.S. Senate-Sr Debbie Stabenow D 57%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 58%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 86%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 50%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 100%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 43%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 43%
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 23%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr John Thune R 93%
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 57%
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 93%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 71%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 21%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 21%
WA U.S. Senate-Jr Maria Cantwell D 21%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 80%
AK U.S. House-At-Large Donald Young R 15%
MN Governor Mark Dayton DFL 46%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine R 21%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III R 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 21%
Wayne Allard 86%
George Allen 86%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 86%
Max Baucus 57%
Evan Bayh 57%
Bob Bennett 43%
Joe Biden, Jr. 46%
Jeff Bingaman 36%
Kit Bond 57%
Barbara Boxer 67%
Sam Brownback 21%
Jim Bunning 85%
Conrad Burns 71%
Robert Byrd 100%
Lincoln Chafee 14%
Saxby Chambliss 93%
Hillary Clinton 50%
Thomas Coburn 100%
Norm Coleman 36%
Kent Conrad 64%
Larry Craig 50%
James DeMint 79%
Chris Dodd 50%
Elizabeth Dole 93%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 57%
Byron Dorgan 86%
John Ensign 86%
Russ Feingold 21%
William Frist 50%
Judd Gregg 64%
Charles Hagel 21%
Tom Harkin 43%
Daniel Inouye 29%
James Merrill Jeffords 15%
Timothy Johnson 50%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 15%
John Kerry 29%
Herb Kohl 43%
Jon Kyl 93%
Mary Landrieu 43%
Frank Lautenberg 21%
Carl Levin 43%
Joe Lieberman 14%
Blanche Lincoln 50%
Trent Lott, Sr. 90%
Dick Lugar 21%
Melquiades Martinez 23%
Barbara Mikulski 43%
Ben Nelson 100%
Barack Obama II 43%
Mark Pryor 50%
Harry Reid 29%
Jay Rockefeller IV 100%
Ken Salazar 25%
Rick Santorum 93%
Paul Sarbanes 36%
Gordon Smith 36%
Olympia Snowe 43%
Arlen Specter 21%
Ted Stevens 14%
John Sununu 85%
James Talent 100%
Craig Thomas 79%
David Vitter 100%
George Voinovich 29%
John Warner 36%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.