Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Conservation Voters New Mexico

2006 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
NM Attorney General Hector Balderas Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic 100%
Dede Feldman 100%
Mary Jane Garcia 100%
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic 100%
Joni Gutierrez 100%
Antonio Lujan 100%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 100%
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic 100%
Cynthia Nava 100%
NM State Senate 12 Gerald Ortiz Pino Democratic 100%
Al Park 100%
Danice Picraux 100%
Michael Sanchez 100%
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic 100%
Luciano Varela 100%
NM State Senate 25 Peter Wirth Democratic 100%
John Grubesic 90%
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic 90%
Lidio Rainaldi 90%
James Taylor 89%
Phil Griego 88%
Ben Altamirano 86%
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic 86%
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic 86%
George Hanosh 86%
Rick Miera 86%
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic 83%
Andy Nuñez 83%
Joseph Fidel 78%
Jose Campos II 71%
Ernest Chavez, Sr. 71%
Mary Helen Garcia 71%
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic 71%
Manuel Herrera 71%
Rhonda Sue King 71%
Kathy McCoy 71%
Daniel Silva 71%
Gloria Vaughn 71%
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic 71%
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic 70%
Bernadette Sanchez 70%
Irvin Harrison 67%
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic 67%
Edward Sandoval 67%
Timothy Jennings 63%
Joe Stell, Jr. 63%
Don Tripp 63%
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic 60%
Henry Saavedra 60%
Jeannette Wallace 60%
Thomas Anderson 57%
Janice Arnold-Jones 57%
William Boykin 57%
Donald Bratton 57%
NM State House 58 Candy Ezzell Republican 57%
Justine Fox-Young 57%
Keith Gardner 57%
NM State House 28 Jimmie Hall Republican 57%
Dianne Hamilton 57%
John Heaton 57%
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic 57%
Ken Martinez 57%
Brian Moore 57%
NM State House 31 William Rehm Republican 57%
Harriet Ruiz 57%
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic 57%
Thomas Swisstack 57%
Leonard Tsosie 57%
Teresa Zanetti 57%
Ted Hobbs 56%
Terry Marquardt 56%
NM State House 45 Jim Trujillo Democratic 56%
Ray Begaye 50%
Clinton Harden, Jr. 50%
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican 50%
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic 50%
Sandra Townsend 50%
Richard Vigil 50%
Sue Wilson Beffort 50%
Dona Irwin 44%
Kandy Cordova 43%
Anna Crook 43%
Donald Whitaker 43%
John Ryan 40%
Daniel Foley 33%
NM State House 44 Jane Powdrell-Culbert Republican 33%
Thomas Taylor 33%
Eric Youngberg 33%
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican 30%
NM State Senate 2 Steven Neville Republican 30%
Helen Diane Snyder 30%
Shannon Robinson 29%
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic 29%
Richard Cheney 25%
Kent Cravens 25%
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican 25%
Joseph Carraro 22%
Steve Komadina 22%
Rod Adair 20%
Vernon Asbill 20%
NM State Senate 42 Gay Kernan Republican 20%
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican 20%
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican 14%
Leonard Lee Rawson 13%
Mark Boitano 10%
Dianna Duran 10%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top