Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Taxpayers Association

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 86%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 47%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 50%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 67%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 94%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 93%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 100%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 93%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 87%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 77%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 92%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 79%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 50%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 100%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 100%
Doug Aagard 100%
Gerry Adair 94%
Jeff Alexander 89%
D. Edgar Allen 73%
Ron Allen 77%
Sheryl Allen 54%
Eli Anderson 63%
Roger Barrus 88%
Trisha Beck 46%
Ralph Becker 40%
Chad Bennion 93%
Cynthia Beshear 50%
Leonard Blackham 88%
Duane Bourdeaux 44%
DeMar Bowman 81%
Afton Bradshaw 56%
Katherine Bryson 100%
Judy Ann Buffmire 56%
Don Bush 94%
D. Chris Buttars 83%
David Clark 88%
Stephen Clark 87%
David Cox 53%
Greg Curtis 80%
Scott Daniels 44%
Marda Dillree 81%
Mike Dmitrich 79%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 93%
Carl Duckworth 63%
Dan Eastman 85%
Beverly Ann Evans 67%
James Ferrin 93%
Ben Ferry 94%
Fred Fife III 56%
Kevin Garn 93%
David Gladwell 100%
Brent Goodfellow 63%
James Gowans 58%
Karen Hale 64%
Neil Hansen 53%
Thomas Hatch 93%
Parley Hellewell 93%
Neal Hendrickson 67%
John Hickman 83%
Dave Hogue 69%
Kory Holdaway 71%
Scott Jenkins 93%
Bradley Johnson 80%
Patricia Jones 50%
Paula Julander 64%
Brad King 47%
David Litvack 38%
Becky Lockhart 93%
L. Alma Mansell 91%
Steven Mascaro 75%
Ed Mayne 67%
Ty McCartney 44%
Karen Morgan 64%
Joseph Murray 94%
Merlynn Newbold 88%
Loraine Pace 88%
Brent Parker 87%
Darin Peterson 88%
Millie Peterson 67%
Morgan Philpot 94%
L. Steven Poulton 100%
Carl Saunders 93%
Jack Seitz 86%
LaWanna Shurtliff 40%
Richard Siddoway 80%
Gordon Snow 93%
Carol Spackman Moss 50%
Terry Spencer 82%
David Steele 86%
Martin Stephens 87%
Michael Styler 75%
Alicia L Suazo 73%
John Swallow 86%
Michael Thompson 86%
J. Matthew Throckmorton 100%
A. Lamont Tyler 73%
Stephen Urquhart 100%
Michael Waddoups 100%
Carlene Walker 87%
Margaret Ann Wallace 88%
Glenn Way 94%
Bradley Winn 94%
Bill Wright 100%
Max Young 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top