Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare

1999 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 100%
Joe Biden, Jr. 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Richard Bryan 100%
Robert Byrd 100%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Daniel Graham 100%
Tom Harkin 100%
Ernest Hollings 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Timothy Johnson 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
John Kerry 100%
Herb Kohl 100%
Mary Landrieu 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
Carl Levin 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
Barbara Mikulski 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Harry Reid 100%
Charles Robb 100%
Jay Rockefeller IV 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Lincoln Chafee 80%
John Breaux 77%
Arlen Specter 46%
Peter Fitzgerald 38%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 31%
Conrad Burns 31%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 31%
James Merrill Jeffords 31%
Dick Lugar 27%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 27%
Ben Campbell 25%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 25%
William Roth, Jr. 25%
Wayne Allard 23%
John Ashcroft 23%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 23%
Bob Bennett 23%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 23%
Jim Bunning 23%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 23%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 23%
Larry Craig 23%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 23%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 23%
William Frist 23%
Slade Gorton 23%
William Phillip Gramm 23%
Rodney Grams 23%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 23%
Judd Gregg 23%
Charles Hagel 23%
Jesse Helms 23%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 23%
Bob Kerrey 23%
Jon Kyl 23%
Trent Lott, Sr. 23%
Connie Mack 23%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 23%
Frank Murkowski 23%
Don Nickles 23%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 23%
Rick Santorum 23%
Gordon Smith 23%
Bob Smith 23%
Olympia Snowe 23%
Ted Stevens 23%
Craig Thomas 23%
Fred Thompson 23%
Strom Thurmond 23%
George Voinovich 23%
John Warner 23%
Kit Bond 17%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 17%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 17%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 17%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 17%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top