Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Lugar Center

1993-2018 Bipartisan Index (Lifetime Scores of United States Senators)

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 61%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Dan Sullivan Republican 48%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 30%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Doug Jones Democratic 60%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 57%
AR U.S. Senate Jr Tom Cotton Republican 27%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 43%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Kamala Harris Democratic 14%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 42%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Cory Gardner Republican 67%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 23%
CT U.S. Senate Jr Chris Murphy Democratic 18%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 50%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 55%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Marco Rubio Republican 49%
GA U.S. Senate Sr David Perdue Republican 28%
HI U.S. Senate Sr Brian Schatz Democratic 30%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 32%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 72%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Joni Ernst Republican 60%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 47%
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican 26%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 38%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Duckworth Democratic 30%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Todd Young Republican 83%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 42%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 56%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 42%
KY U.S. Senate Jr Rand Paul Republican 24%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 48%
LA U.S. Senate Jr John Kennedy Republican 47%
MA U.S. Senate Sr Elizabeth Warren Democratic 32%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 19%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 44%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 25%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 90%
ME U.S. Senate Jr Angus King, Jr. Independent 59%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 40%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Gary Peters Democratic 59%
MN U.S. Senate Sr Amy Klobuchar Democratic 53%
MN U.S. Senate Jr Tina Smith Democratic 17%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 65%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 43%
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 45%
MT U.S. Senate Jr Steve Daines Republican 55%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 47%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Thom Tillis Republican 55%
ND U.S. Senate Sr John Hoeven Republican 57%
NE U.S. Senate Sr Deb Fischer Republican 35%
NE U.S. Senate Jr Ben Sasse Republican 27%
NH U.S. Senate Sr Jeanne Shaheen Democratic 47%
NH U.S. Senate Jr Maggie Hassan Democratic 37%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 24%
NJ U.S. Senate Jr Cory Booker Democratic 27%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 26%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 35%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Catherine Cortez Masto Democratic 32%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 34%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 22%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 36%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 74%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 61%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 31%
OK U.S. Senate Jr James Lankford Republican 32%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 49%
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 19%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 36%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 48%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 42%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 26%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 50%
SC U.S. Senate Jr Tim Scott Republican 35%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 50%
SD U.S. Senate Jr Mike Rounds Republican 38%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 48%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 35%
TX U.S. Senate Jr Ted Cruz Republican 17%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Mike Lee Republican 18%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 56%
VA U.S. Senate Jr Tim Kaine Democratic 43%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 49%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 11%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 34%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 42%
WI U.S. Senate Sr Ron Johnson Republican 26%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 31%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Joe Manchin III Democratic 76%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 80%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 42%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 27%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 44%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 41%
Wayne Allard 38%
George Allen 46%
John Ashcroft 23%
Kelly Ayotte 57%
Max Baucus 61%
Evan Bayh 54%
Mark Begich 46%
Bob Bennett 31%
Joe Biden, Jr. 58%
Jeff Bingaman 60%
Kit Bond 51%
David Boren 78%
Barbara Boxer 29%
Bill Bradley 37%
John Breaux 63%
Hank Brown 29%
Scott Brown 57%
Sam Brownback 48%
Richard Bryan 53%
Dale Bumpers 43%
Jim Bunning 40%
Conrad Burns 45%
Roland Burris 10%
Robert Byrd 35%
Ben Campbell 56%
Jean Carnahan 53%
John Chafee 69%
Lincoln Chafee 100%
Saxby Chambliss 32%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 59%
Hillary Clinton 36%
Dan Coats 20%
Thomas Coburn 29%
Thad Cochran 52%
William Cohen 54%
Norm Coleman 72%
Kent Conrad 62%
Robert Corker 51%
Jon Corzine 30%
Paul Coverdell 19%
Larry Craig 43%
Alfonse D'Amato 62%
John Danforth 52%
Thomas Daschle 56%
Mark Dayton 36%
Dennis DeConcini 52%
James DeMint 0%
Chris Dodd 45%
Elizabeth Dole 44%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 63%
Joe Donnelly, Sr. 89%
Byron Dorgan 54%
Dave Durenberger 70%
John Edwards 46%
John Ensign 58%
Jim Exon 42%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 29%
Russ Feingold 38%
Peter Fitzgerald 62%
Jeff Flake 33%
Wendell Ford 55%
Al Franken 25%
William Frist 51%
John Glenn 50%
Slade Gorton 46%
Daniel Graham 59%
William Phillip Gramm 24%
Rodney Grams 34%
Judd Gregg 47%
Kay Hagan 38%
Charles Hagel 59%
Tom Harkin 45%
Orrin Hatch 56%
Mark Hatfield 73%
Howell Heflin 68%
Heidi Heitkamp 57%
Dean Heller 62%
Jesse Helms 20%
Ernest Hollings 61%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 35%
Kay Hutchison 46%
Daniel Inouye 40%
Johnny Isakson 48%
James Merrill Jeffords 69%
Mike Johanns 40%
Timothy Johnson 53%
J. Bennett Johnston 47%
Nancy Landon Kassebaum 51%
Ted Kaufman 32%
Dirk Kempthorne 27%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 44%
Bob Kerrey 56%
John Kerry 41%
Mark Kirk 68%
Herb Kohl 48%
Jon Kyl 27%
Mary Landrieu 54%
Frank Lautenberg 25%
George LeMieux 53%
Carl Levin 41%
Joe Lieberman 62%
Blanche Lincoln 66%
Trent Lott, Sr. 43%
Dick Lugar 62%
Connie Mack 49%
Melquiades Martinez 48%
Harlan Mathews 25%
John McCain III 52%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top