Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Tax Limitation Committee

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 83%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 85%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 97%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 89%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 18%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 6%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 6%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 5%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 94%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 11%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 3%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 89%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 39%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 3%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 73%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 3%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 89%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 13%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 79%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 87%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 93%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 95%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 3%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 5%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 14%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 16%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 3%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 16%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 13%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 71%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 37%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 95%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 97%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 16%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 92%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 13%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 8%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 53%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 11%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 8%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 71%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 8%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 5%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 11%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 84%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 92%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 11%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 68%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 97%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 11%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 8%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 5%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 26%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 97%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 13%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 8%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 16%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 7%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 3%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 18%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 16%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 92%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 8%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 93%
Neil Abercrombie 5%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 89%
Gary Ackerman 3%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 3%
Wayne Allard 96%
Thomas Allen 13%
Rob Andrews 14%
Bill Archer 95%
Richard Armey 97%
John Ashcroft 100%
Spencer Bachus 92%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 93%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
Cass Ballenger 95%
James Barcia 38%
Bob Barr, Jr. 100%
Bill Barrett 82%
Roscoe Bartlett 97%
Joe Barton 100%
Charlie Bass 68%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 84%
Max Baucus 11%
Bob Bennett 74%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 16%
Douglas Bereuter 67%
Howard Berman 8%
Marion Berry 42%
Joe Biden, Jr. 14%
Brian Bilbray 63%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
Jeff Bingaman 11%
Rod Blagojevich 11%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 95%
Sherwood Boehlert 39%
John Boehner 100%
Kit Bond 68%
Henry Bonilla 94%
David Edward Bonior 11%
Mary Bono Mack 80%
Robert Borski, Jr. 11%
Leonard Boswell 29%
Rick Boucher 6%
Barbara Boxer 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 41%
Bob Brady 6%
John Breaux 29%
Corrine Brown 14%
George Brown, Jr. 3%
Sam Brownback 100%
Richard Bryan 11%
Ed Bryant 100%
Jim Bunning 92%
Conrad Burns 81%
Dan Burton 95%
Steve Buyer 95%
Robert Byrd 14%
Herbert Callahan 100%
Dave Camp 87%
Ben Campbell 71%
Thomas Campbell 55%
Chris Cannon 91%
Lois Capps 17%
Julia Carson 8%
Mike Castle 55%
John Chafee 46%
Saxby Chambliss 92%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 84%
William Clay, Sr. 3%
Eva Clayton 11%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 11%
Robert Clement 29%
Howard Coble 97%
Thomas Coburn 97%
Thad Cochran 63%
Michael Collins 95%
Larry Combest 97%
Gary Condit 58%
Kent Conrad 7%
John Conyers, Jr. 1%
Merrill Cook 84%
John Cooksey 89%
Jerry Costello 16%
Paul Coverdell 93%
Christopher Cox 97%
William Coyne 5%
Larry Craig 86%
Robert Cramer 50%
Philip Crane 100%
Barbara Cubin 97%
Randall Cunningham 91%
Patsy Ann Danner 55%
Thomas Daschle 0%
James Davis 24%
Thomas Davis III 67%
Nathan Deal 97%
Bill Delahunt 5%
Thomas DeLay 95%
Peter Deutsch 11%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 66%
Jay Dickey 97%
Norm Dicks 16%
John Dingell 5%
Julian Dixon 3%
Chris Dodd 11%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 71%
Calvin Dooley 34%
John Doolittle 95%
Byron Dorgan 7%
David Dreier 97%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top